Excel calculations in Guest very slow-what am I doing wrong?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
HDF

Excel calculations in Guest very slow-what am I doing wrong?

Post by HDF »

I'm a complete novice at VirtualBox, so my problem could be something very basic, but I couldn't find anything in the forum that related to my issue. Here's my story:

I installed VB in order to run MS Excel 64 bit. I can't install it in the Host because Excel 64 has some issues (documented by MS) that don't let it play nice with all of my stuff, so for everyday use I have MS Office 32 bit installed in the host.

I run some very complex spreadsheets, in particular an analysis that runs through several thousand iterations (on the host it will take at least 5 minutes to run). Excel 32 bit uses a maximum of 4 Gb of RAM (regardless of what is installed) while Excel 64 bit will use as much RAM as you give it (or so I understand). Seeing as I have 32 Gb of RAM I figured if I installed a VM and gave it plenty of RAM I would (in theory) be able to run those calculations much more quickly - or at least this is the entire premise behind me installing VirtualBox.

The set up is as follows:

Host
Computer: HP Z220
CPU: i7-3770 @ 3.40Ghz
OS: Windows 7 - 64 (the OS is installed on an SSD drive)
Ram: 32 Gb

VirtualBox v. 4.3.10 r93012
RAM: 24 Gb of the 32 in the Host
Virtual Hard drive of 100Gb created for its use (this virtual drive and the Guest OS are located on the Host's second HDD which is not an SSD drive).
MS Office: Currently have tried it with Excel 2010. If it works as planned I will then also install Excel 2013.

When I run a test of the program on the Host (Excel 32 bit), it takes 5 minutes to execute fully. When I run it in the virtual machine (Excel 64 with 24 Gb RAM) it takes over 15 minutes. This is clearly not what I was aiming for.