VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby brihaupt » 17. May 2012, 21:22

I recently got an Acer Aspire 7750G laptop with ATI Radeon HD 7670M video card. When I loaded VirtualBox there were no problems; the installation was successful. Every time I open VirtualBox I get an error stating "LoadLibrary failed with error 126: The specified module could not be found." I reinstalled Windows and VirtualBox and receive the same error everytime; I used multiple install discs and even tried different version of Windows 7. I found that not loading my video drivers will allow VirtualBox to run properly. I ran
VBoxTestOGL.exe --test 2D --log <log_file_name1>
and
VBoxTestOGL.exe --test 3D --log <log_file_name2>

and then loaded the video drivers, rebooted and ran the test again. I am attaching the logs as well as a screenshot of the error.

Windows 7 Professional x64
Windows 7 Professional x64 with SP1
Windows 7 Home Premium x64

The older version of the video driver from Acer will not load so I cannot test that. I have also tried running the following
C:\Windows\system32>copy atio6axx.dll .dll
Attachments
3d_test_with_drivers.txt
(424 Bytes) Downloaded 63 times
2d_test_without_drivers.txt
(1.02 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
2d_test_with_drivers.txt
(424 Bytes) Downloaded 9 times
brihaupt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17. May 2012, 21:11

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby brihaupt » 17. May 2012, 21:22

The last of the files.
Attachments
error.jpg
error.jpg (15.99 KiB) Viewed 4852 times
3d_test_without_drivers.txt
(763 Bytes) Downloaded 86 times
brihaupt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17. May 2012, 21:11

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby Perryg » 17. May 2012, 23:26

I found that not loading my video drivers will allow VirtualBox to run properly. I ran

Where exactly are you loading the video drivers?
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby brihaupt » 18. May 2012, 01:30

Ah I apologize for not being clearer initially. When I load the Acer provided video drivers in Windows I start having the reported issue with VirtualBox. ATI does not provide the drivers for my video card. To further clarify I have not yet created any virtual machines. I have only gotten as far as installing Windows, all of my drivers, and VirtualBox.
brihaupt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17. May 2012, 21:11

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby Perryg » 18. May 2012, 01:41

Then it looks like the provided video drivers are not compatible. Have you contacted Acer (forum) about this?
I have seen a lot of driver issues (not only when using VirtualBox) with the Catalyst drivers. For some reason there is something corrupt or missing in the GL drivers.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby gKDante » 24. Jun 2012, 06:49

I have exactly the same computer and I am having exactly the same problem,

Have you found any solution?
gKDante
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 24. Jun 2012, 06:49

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby Bullroth » 17. Jul 2012, 13:26

hi,

In my case, the problem was du to an upgrade of the graphic card drivers. In fact, my laptop has 2 graphic cards. One, is used for best video performances and when the electric cable is connected, the other, is used for low performance and used when the battery level is low. Perhaps your laptop has the same problematic.
To solve this error, trying to change the value of graphic switch trough right-click on the office background and go to the panel of configuration of your graphic card (option ATI, Intel or Nvidia). Normaly, you can find an option who permit you to choose what graphic chipset to use by default. Use the chip who uses the best performances.
After that you can launch you virtual machine on Vbox.
Bullroth
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16. Jul 2012, 15:53

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby mkr » 4. Oct 2012, 17:02

Recently I too had this problem after getting a new computer, and with the help from a friend, it turned out the problem boils down to a rather tiny omission on the part of AMD/ATI graphics drivers, and it can be fixed with a simple Windows registry alteration presented below (copied from here):

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000]

"OpenGLVendorName"=hex(7):61,00,74,00,69,00,6f,00,36,00,61,00,78,00,78,00,2e,\
  00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00,61,00,74,00,69,00,6f,00,36,00,61,00,78,00,78,00,\
  2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00,00,00
mkr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21. Nov 2011, 14:20
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: VirtualBox LoadLibrary failed with error 126

Postby CodeRunner » 17. Oct 2012, 19:49

Thanks mkr! Same Acer 7750G laptop, also VBox and same message. That seems to do the trick so far! :)
CodeRunner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. Oct 2012, 19:47


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 45 guests