Cannot log in to Windows mapped drives in VM

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
MartinST

Cannot log in to Windows mapped drives in VM

Post by MartinST »

I have a hp8540W notebook with 159GB free space on the HDD, 4GB RAM, 2.8GHz i7 and Windows 7 pro SP1 64-bits.
I'm a VB newbie, and installed 4.1.14. My colleague has the same PC, and his system folder containing WinXP + a big application that doesn't run on Win7 was copied to my PC.
I changed his user name to mine - the same user name I use regularly for login and whatever.
For my application to work, I need access to some mapped network drives, but when I try to log in to those, they tell me ID or password is wrong. I can ping the servers in a command window...
Tried disconnecting and remapping... same result.
I looked at the shared folder thing without really understanding what to do... when I go to devices - shared folders I get a warning saying "The VirtualBox Guest Additions do not appear to be available on this virtual machine, and shared folders cannot be used without them. But I did reinstall the guest additions from the website (for the right version). I suspect the problem is here, somehow.
From a command window I tried this:
C:\>net use P: \\servername\foldername
after a long time it responds:
System error 1909 has occurred.
The referenced account is currently locked out and may not be logged on to.

So happy for any advice you may have!
Perryg
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Cannot log in to Windows mapped drives in VM

Post by Perryg »

I think you are misunderstanding the difference of shared folders and mapped network drives.
Shared folders only map the hosts folders that are shared.
Also for mapped network drives you would need to be using Bridged mode for the virtual adapter.
MartinST

Post by MartinST »

You are right - I could find no hint about mapped network drives so...