selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby kbhat321 » 29. Dec 2011, 18:32

I have been running virtual box on my computer for a while and one time my whole computer shut down randomly. Now, I can't get on my virtual machine. I get this error message. Does anyone have any suggestions?


Runtime error opening 'C:\Users\Kieran\VirtualBox VMs\Linux Mint\Linux Mint.vbox' for reading: -102 (File not found.).


E:\tinderbox\win-rel\src\VBox\Main\src-server\MachineImpl.cpp[685] (Machine::registeredInit).
Result Code:
E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component:
VirtualBox
Interface:
IVirtualBox {c28be65f-1a8f-43b4-81f1-eb60cb516e66}


thanks a bunch
kbhat321
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29. Dec 2011, 18:20
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: linux mint

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby mpack » 30. Dec 2011, 12:54

First, shut down VirtualBox completely.

Now, if you look in the VM folder (where the .vbox file is supposed to be) you will probably see a .vbox-tmp or .vbox-new file instead. If either of these exists, then rename the extension to .vbox. If and only if neither of those files exists, there should be a .vbox-prev file in the same folder which you can again change to .vbox.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 28361
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby kbhat321 » 30. Dec 2011, 19:05

thanks a bunch
kbhat321
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29. Dec 2011, 18:20
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: linux mint

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby mpack » 30. Dec 2011, 19:07

Meaning, that fixed it?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 28361
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby kbhat321 » 2. Jan 2012, 04:17

yep, thanks
kbhat321
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29. Dec 2011, 18:20
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: linux mint

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby Young_RM » 13. Feb 2014, 14:57

Thanks much!
Young_RM
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13. Feb 2014, 14:56

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby Lavanya » 12. Aug 2015, 20:54

Thanks a lot. when ever I encounter such situation, I use to create a new VM and again install all the softwares for my project.

This saved lot of time!!
Lavanya
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12. Aug 2015, 20:53

Re: selected virtual machine is inaccessible

Postby mpack » 13. Aug 2015, 10:35

Lavanya wrote:Thanks a lot. when ever I encounter such situation, I use to create a new VM and again install all the softwares for my project.

Well, that is almost never necessary, even if the fix above didn't work.

If you still have the disk part of the VM (i.e. the VDI) then it's always possible to create a new VM around it. Create the VM as normal and then when you get to the disk creation step, choose "use existing". One tip: move the VDI into the newly created VM folder before selecting it in the new VM. That ensures that all VM files are in one neat folder, which is what forum users will tend to assume when answering your questions.

And I might add that a good regular backup of the VM folder is the best guarantee.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 28361
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Schaffstein and 28 guests