What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 20. Dec 2011, 20:02

Now I have booted from Gparted but not able to extend it any more to use the unalocated space. Please suggest

Why are you not able to extend it?
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby neilghosh » 20. Dec 2011, 20:03

Screenshot
Attachments
gparted.jpg
gparted.jpg (79.85 KiB) Viewed 8377 times
Neil
neilghosh
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Location: Hyderabad
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 20. Dec 2011, 20:14

You need to move the swap area to the end of the partition table.
Personally I find it easier to delete the swap and then extend the first partition and make sure to leave enough at the end to add the swap back.

If you are not familiar with this and since it can cause real damage to the guest. Be sure you have backed up the guest. Also if you are using snapshots this will not work for you anyway.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby neilghosh » 20. Dec 2011, 20:18

I can delete and create the swap again but what about the boot partition next to it ?
If I delete it might not boot at all, can it be re-created ?
Neil
neilghosh
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Location: Hyderabad
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 20. Dec 2011, 20:28

OK you might be better off just creating a new guest with the proper size.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby neilghosh » 20. Dec 2011, 20:30

Yay ... I think I solved it.
There was no boot partition in the original hard disk (I had posted the screenshot of the Copied one). I deleted the swap and re-created at the end of it after expanding.
I think boot is taken care by the primary partition's boot section itself. Thanks so much for your help. I saved all my settings without having to go for a new installation.

neil@neil-VirtualBox:~$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 19G 6.6G 12G 37% /
udev 874M 8.0K 874M 1% /dev
tmpfs 353M 756K 352M 1% /run
none 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
none 881M 1.1M 880M 1% /run/shm
SH 82G 55G 27G 68% /media/sf_SH
Neil
neilghosh
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Location: Hyderabad
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Steef » 16. Jun 2016, 18:57

I had the same error, but I misunderstood its working. I used the following command :

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
$ vboxmanage modifyhd KPN.FOW.vdi --resize 30000


and got the error. I thought the command was extending the current size, but the '30000' argument is the new size. In my case, the new size was smaller then the current one which was 81920 (discovered with "VBoxManage showhdinfo KPN.FOW.vdi"). This command worked :

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
$ vboxmanage modifyhd KPN.FOW.vdi --resize 120000
Steef
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. Nov 2012, 13:18

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby vasanti » 17. Oct 2016, 17:34

I am running VirtualBox on a windows machine via docker and I am executing the command from command prompt "vboxmanage modify C:\Users\KBT2\.docker\machine\machines\default\disk.vdi --resize 100000"
However, the following error is displayed "Resize medium operation for this format is not implemented yet!"
vasanti
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. Oct 2016, 17:31

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby scottgus1 » 17. Oct 2016, 18:37

Vasanti, this is a dead thread, despite the previous poster's attempt to resurrect it.

Please post in a new thread, and please enter the exact command you type and the exact error message you receive. (clue that exactness wasn't attempted is the posted command "vboxmanage modify". There is no "vboxmanage modify". There is a "vboxmanage modifymedium disk", though.)
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4488
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby mpack » 17. Oct 2016, 19:09

Yes, time to lock this one. People are quite obviously not reading it all - all two pages of it.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29832
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests