What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
BaaMoo
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by BaaMoo »

Hi,

I know this has been covered in another thread but I'm sure I'm doing everything that it says. I'm new to Virtualbox so its highly likely I'm just being doopid.

C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox VMs\W7-64bit-01>"C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VboxManage" modifyhd --resize 42000 W7-64bit-01.vdi
0%...
Progress state: VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED
VBoxManage.exe: error: Resize hard disk operation for this format is not implemented yet!

The disk is currently 20Gb so I think 42000 = 42Gb (or there abouts) so it shouldn't be the case that it thinks I'm trying to shrink the volume. I'm most confused by this.

Any suggestions are most welcome.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by Perryg »

Code: Select all

VBoxManage modifyhd <uuid>|<filename>
                   [--type normal|writethrough|immutable|shareable|
                   readonly|multiattach]
                   [--autoreset on|off]
                   [--compact]
                   [--resize <megabytes>|--resizebyte <bytes>]
VBoxManage modifyhd <absolute path and complete file name> --resize <new size in megabytes>
BaaMoo
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by BaaMoo »

Thanks for the quick response. I THINK I'm doing that though....

C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox VMs\W7-64bit-01\W7-64bit-01.vdi" --resize 42000
0%...
Progress state: VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED
VBoxManage.exe: error: Resize hard disk operation for this format is not implemented yet!

C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>

It's probably really obvious what I'm doing wrong.
BaaMoo
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by BaaMoo »

It can't be a path problem becuase the compact command worked.

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox
 VMs\W7-64bit-01\W7-64bit-01.vdi" --compact
0%...10%...20%...30%...40%...50%...60%...70%...80%...90%...100%
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by Perryg »

Just going by what you posted in your first topic above. You had the syntax wrong.
Is the disk dynamic or fixed? Fixed is not supported.

You can use CloneVDI Tool on a fixed drive and it will expand it, but it will save the clone as dynamic, which is suggested anyway.
BaaMoo
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by BaaMoo »

Is this the problem? If I list the VMs I get the following...

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage list vms
"W7-64bit-01" {f5243d6b-cdc2-4b29-9718-9277acec9c2e}
The log file seems lot be talking about a different aIID

Code: Select all

00:06:51.671 Medium::Task ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED (0x80bb0009) aIID={53f9cc0c-e0fd-40a5-a404-a7a5272082cd} aComponent={Medium} aText={Compacting is not yet supported for medium 'C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox VMs\W7-64bit-01\W7-64bit-01.vdi'}, preserve=false
Am I just clutching at straws here?
BaaMoo
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by BaaMoo »

Perryg wrote:Fixed is not supported.
Bingo, many thanks, should have read the manual. :oops:
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by Perryg »

It happens. But all is not lost. Click the link above and use Dons CloneVDI tool. As i said it will enlarge the size and save the clone in a dynamic format.
BaaMoo
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by BaaMoo »

Thanks again.
neilghosh
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu
Location: Hyderabad
Contact:

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by neilghosh »

I am getting the same error while trying to increase the size by the following command

VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED
VBoxManage.exe: error: Resize hard disk operation for this format is not impleme
nted yet!

However the Hard Disk is Dynamically allocated storage
Attachments
Virtual media properties
Virtual media properties
VBHDD.JPG (107.32 KiB) Viewed 156959 times
Neil
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by Perryg »

@neilghosh,
Post the command that you are using.
neilghosh
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu
Location: Hyderabad
Contact:

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by neilghosh »

I am using

D:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd D:\VM\Ubuntu\Ubuntu.vdi
--resize 2048

However I managed to copy using CloneVDI tool which internally uses the same tool.
I had given 20 G in the increase to box but the size of the newly created vdi is again still 8 G

Do I need to increase the partition or something ? Any suggestion ?
Neil
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by Perryg »

Use Gparted to increase the original partition to take up the rest of the disk.
Mount it in the CD/DVD and boot to Gparted.

Be sure you have made a backup.
smithlar
Posts: 79
Joined: 9. May 2008, 15:54
Primary OS: openSUSE
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WinXP32 WinXP64 Win7-32 Win7-64 openSUSE64 OS2 Win10
Location: Texas, USA

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by smithlar »

neilghosh wrote:I am using

D:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd D:\VM\Ubuntu\Ubuntu.vdi
--resize 2048

However I managed to copy using CloneVDI tool which internally uses the same tool.
I had given 20 G in the increase to box but the size of the newly created vdi is again still 8 G

Do I need to increase the partition or something ? Any suggestion ?
Isn't --resize 2048 asking for only 2GB (smaller than the current 8GB)?
neilghosh
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu
Location: Hyderabad
Contact:

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Post by neilghosh »

Yes I got the match wrong , put 2 GB instead of 20.
Now I have booted from Gparted but not able to extend it any more to use the unalocated space. Please suggest
Neil
Locked