What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby BaaMoo » 10. Nov 2011, 01:55

Hi,

I know this has been covered in another thread but I'm sure I'm doing everything that it says. I'm new to Virtualbox so its highly likely I'm just being doopid.

C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox VMs\W7-64bit-01>"C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VboxManage" modifyhd --resize 42000 W7-64bit-01.vdi
0%...
Progress state: VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED
VBoxManage.exe: error: Resize hard disk operation for this format is not implemented yet!

The disk is currently 20Gb so I think 42000 = 42Gb (or there abouts) so it shouldn't be the case that it thinks I'm trying to shrink the volume. I'm most confused by this.

Any suggestions are most welcome.
BaaMoo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 10. Nov 2011, 01:59

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VBoxManage modifyhd <uuid>|<filename>
                   [--type normal|writethrough|immutable|shareable|
                   readonly|multiattach]
                   [--autoreset on|off]
                   [--compact]
                   [--resize <megabytes>|--resizebyte <bytes>]


VBoxManage modifyhd <absolute path and complete file name> --resize <new size in megabytes>
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby BaaMoo » 10. Nov 2011, 02:07

Thanks for the quick response. I THINK I'm doing that though....

C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox VMs\W7-64bit-01\W7-64bit-01.vdi" --resize 42000
0%...
Progress state: VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED
VBoxManage.exe: error: Resize hard disk operation for this format is not implemented yet!

C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>

It's probably really obvious what I'm doing wrong.
BaaMoo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby BaaMoo » 10. Nov 2011, 02:22

It can't be a path problem becuase the compact command worked.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox
 VMs\W7-64bit-01\W7-64bit-01.vdi" --compact
0%...10%...20%...30%...40%...50%...60%...70%...80%...90%...100%
BaaMoo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 10. Nov 2011, 02:27

Just going by what you posted in your first topic above. You had the syntax wrong.
Is the disk dynamic or fixed? Fixed is not supported.

You can use CloneVDI Tool on a fixed drive and it will expand it, but it will save the clone as dynamic, which is suggested anyway.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby BaaMoo » 10. Nov 2011, 02:28

Is this the problem? If I list the VMs I get the following...
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage list vms
"W7-64bit-01" {f5243d6b-cdc2-4b29-9718-9277acec9c2e}

The log file seems lot be talking about a different aIID
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
00:06:51.671 Medium::Task ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED (0x80bb0009) aIID={53f9cc0c-e0fd-40a5-a404-a7a5272082cd} aComponent={Medium} aText={Compacting is not yet supported for medium 'C:\Users\Rich\VirtualBox VMs\W7-64bit-01\W7-64bit-01.vdi'}, preserve=false

Am I just clutching at straws here?
BaaMoo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby BaaMoo » 10. Nov 2011, 02:30

Perryg wrote:Fixed is not supported.


Bingo, many thanks, should have read the manual. :oops:
BaaMoo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 10. Nov 2011, 02:35

It happens. But all is not lost. Click the link above and use Dons CloneVDI tool. As i said it will enlarge the size and save the clone in a dynamic format.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby BaaMoo » 10. Nov 2011, 02:40

Thanks again.
BaaMoo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Nov 2011, 19:39
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby neilghosh » 20. Dec 2011, 15:09

I am getting the same error while trying to increase the size by the following command

VBOX_E_NOT_SUPPORTED
VBoxManage.exe: error: Resize hard disk operation for this format is not impleme
nted yet!

However the Hard Disk is Dynamically allocated storage
Attachments
VBHDD.JPG
Virtual media properties
VBHDD.JPG (107.32 KiB) Viewed 121626 times
Neil
neilghosh
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Location: Hyderabad
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 20. Dec 2011, 15:40

@neilghosh,
Post the command that you are using.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby neilghosh » 20. Dec 2011, 16:11

I am using

D:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd D:\VM\Ubuntu\Ubuntu.vdi
--resize 2048

However I managed to copy using CloneVDI tool which internally uses the same tool.
I had given 20 G in the increase to box but the size of the newly created vdi is again still 8 G

Do I need to increase the partition or something ? Any suggestion ?
Neil
neilghosh
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Location: Hyderabad
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby Perryg » 20. Dec 2011, 16:24

Use Gparted to increase the original partition to take up the rest of the disk.
Mount it in the CD/DVD and boot to Gparted.

Be sure you have made a backup.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby smithlar » 20. Dec 2011, 18:04

neilghosh wrote:I am using

D:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd D:\VM\Ubuntu\Ubuntu.vdi
--resize 2048

However I managed to copy using CloneVDI tool which internally uses the same tool.
I had given 20 G in the increase to box but the size of the newly created vdi is again still 8 G

Do I need to increase the partition or something ? Any suggestion ?


Isn't --resize 2048 asking for only 2GB (smaller than the current 8GB)?
smithlar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 9. May 2008, 15:54
Location: Texas, USA
Primary OS: openSUSE
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WinXP32 WinXP64 Win7-32 Win7-64 openSUSE64 OS2 Win10

Re: What am I doing wrong on resizing?

Postby neilghosh » 20. Dec 2011, 20:01

Yes I got the match wrong , put 2 GB instead of 20.
Now I have booted from Gparted but not able to extend it any more to use the unalocated space. Please suggest
Neil
neilghosh
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 24. Aug 2010, 18:05
Location: Hyderabad
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: operation420.net and 36 guests