Can't ping without gateway

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Can't ping without gateway

Postby smarks » 30. Mar 2011, 15:34

I'll make it short

Host: Windows Server 2008 R2
IP: 192.168.1.2/24
VB Version: 3.2.12

Guest: Windows Server 2008 R2
IP: 192.168.1.3/24
Virtual Networking Type: Bridged networking to my physical NIC.

The problem is unless I configure a gateway 192.168.1.1(set to my dsl router) in both host and guest NIC I am unable to ping between them. I thought gateway is optional for communication in a same subnet. Is there any alternate setup I could use without using gateways?

Thanks in advance.
smarks
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. Mar 2011, 15:23
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Can't ping without gateway

Postby vbox4me2 » 30. Mar 2011, 15:38

Both gw set to blank, what does a route print and a tracert say?
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5222
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Can't ping without gateway

Postby smarks » 31. Mar 2011, 09:41

Tracerts to either OS timeout from the very first hop. Here are the results from route print

Host:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
===========================================================================
Interface List
 11...e1 ca 7c 53 d1 2d ......NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
  1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
 13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
 16...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      192.168.1.0    255.255.255.0         On-link       192.168.1.2    276
      192.168.1.2  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.2    276
    192.168.1.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.2    276
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       192.168.1.2    276
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.2    276
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None

IPv6 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
  1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None


Guest:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
===========================================================================
Interface List
 11...08 00 27 8b 1b 02 ......Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter
  1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
 12...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
 13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      192.168.1.0    255.255.255.0         On-link       192.168.1.3    266
      192.168.1.3  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.3    266
    192.168.1.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.3    266
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       192.168.1.3    266
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.3    266
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None

IPv6 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
  1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     fd00::1
===========================================================================



Btw my host CAN ping guest even if a gateway was not configured on itself but as soon as I clear the gateway entry in guest the ping breaks. Same way the other way around. It looks like in-order to ping the remote OS the gateway must be configured on the other side even if they are on the same subnet.
smarks
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. Mar 2011, 15:23
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows


Re: Can't ping without gateway

Postby smarks » 31. Mar 2011, 11:47

vbox4me2 wrote:http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100510103013AA2kGZo


Thanks for the reply but that didn't answer my question :(. My question is not to setup communication between different subnets. My host and guest is running in a 192.168.1.0 network and I don't seem understand why I should supply gateway/default_gw for communication to take place. I want the ping to work by supplying just only two fields, IP and Mask. I was wondering if this is an issue with bridged networking in virtualbox.
smarks
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. Mar 2011, 15:23
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Can't ping without gateway

Postby Sasquatch » 31. Mar 2011, 20:30

The problem what's going on, is that with Windows 2008 and above, the firewall blocks ICMP echo (aka ping) when the network is unknown or public. This happens when there is no gateway set, the network is unknown. Once you enter a gateway, the network suddenly becomes a known network and will be configured for home or office firewall rules. These rules allow ICMP echo requests.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Can't ping without gateway

Postby smarks » 1. Apr 2011, 06:36

Spot on Sasquatch. Its switching my firewall profile to public the moment I clear the default gateway. Can't believe I missed that.

Thanks a lot :D
smarks
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. Mar 2011, 15:23
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], mpack, Supuhstar and 56 guests