0x80080005 - again :-(

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby andreask » 10. Mar 2011, 11:49

I'm trying to run VirtualBox on a Dell R410 Dual-Xeon with 32GB Memory / Windows 2008 Server R2 with SP1 - very unsuccessful until now.

The installation is running without any error messages.
When i try to start the VB GUI i get an error message (0x80080005).
When i try to run vboxmanage i get error 0x80010105 - the server threw an exception.
VBoxSVC is not running.

I have installed and uninstalled several times.
I've tried different Versions of VB (4.0.0 up to 4.0.4, even 3.x) - same effect.
I've reinstalled the OS (with and without SP1, with and without MS updates) - same effect.
VB itself is running on a different 2008 R2 SP1 - Machine (AMD X2, 8GB) without any Problems.
So this seems to be related to the Hardware or Bios-Settings.

All older Posts regarding this topic seem to be related to 2.x/3.x Versions or useless.

Could anyone provide a good Idea :?:
andreask
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Mar 2011, 10:43
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows XP / 7

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbox4me2 » 10. Mar 2011, 11:59

Any other virtualizer installed ?
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbuser7 » 10. Mar 2011, 12:32

i have some problem.
Then i start virtualbox 4.0.4 on Windows 7 32 bit, i see the virtualbox.exe and VboxSVC process in task manager but the GUI never shows up.

When i kill process VboxSVC I got this error:

unable to create a COM Object. Error: "Callee RC: CO_E_SERVER_EXEC_FAILURE (0x80080005)"

Anti-Virus is disabled. I have no usb devices. I have no other virtualizer.


I believe that the error is identical to

http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/6538

http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/4200

There is a problem for a long time but have not solved!
vbuser7
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 8. Mar 2011, 16:59
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: winxp

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbox4me2 » 10. Mar 2011, 13:00

If you type this error into google you will find loads of possible solutions, have either of you tried them ?
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbuser7 » 10. Mar 2011, 16:05

if this error could be solved by Google unlikely, it would have occurred so frequently.
Links in Google are for open tickets to your bugtracker.
vbuser7
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 8. Mar 2011, 16:59
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: winxp

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbox4me2 » 10. Mar 2011, 16:48

No their not, there are 35.900 results that have everything to do with a windows issue and nothing with Vbox.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby andreask » 10. Mar 2011, 16:50

@vbox4me2:
no - I've tried this with an installation fresh from the DVD - there was absolutely nothing installed.
sorry - Google doesn't solve the problem

@vbuser7:
this seems to be a completely different Problem to me.
1. Windows7 32 Bit
2. VBoxSvc is running
In my case: W2K8R2SP1 (64Bit) & VBoxSVC doesn't start.
andreask
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Mar 2011, 10:43
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows XP / 7

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbuser7 » 10. Mar 2011, 20:27

Yes there are some differences. But the error code is the same.
This error actually is present in the VM version 3.x and 4.x but still persists because the corporation Sun / Oracle just do not want her to acknowledge her existence!
vbuser7
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 8. Mar 2011, 16:59
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: winxp

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby andreask » 11. Mar 2011, 19:06

Just to provide some additional information:

I've tried to run VB4.0.4 on the same Dell machine, but with Windows7 x64 and Windows2008 x64 as OS.
In both cases i get the same reaction as i had with W2K8R2-SP1
Error 0x80080005 when starting VirtualBox.

So this seems definitely have to do with Hardware configuration or Bios-Settings.

Did anyone try to run VB on a (different) Dual-Xeon System?
Does anyone run VB with 32G of Memory?
What about Bios-Settings, especially some Processor-Virtualization-Settings?

I'm running out of ideas :(
andreask
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Mar 2011, 10:43
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows XP / 7

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby Sasquatch » 12. Mar 2011, 00:34

Did you install 2008 R2 with Hyper-V role or not? If you did, remove it as it's causing all these errors.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby andreask » 12. Mar 2011, 11:11

Sasquatch wrote:Did you install 2008 R2 with Hyper-V role or not? If you did, remove it as it's causing all these errors.


I did not!
To be absolutely sure that no other installed software is causing this Problems i did all those tests on a fresh installation without ANYTHING installed.
Windows7 x64 doesn't even have a Hyper-V Role.

But!
I have a different Machine (AMD Phenom X2, 8GB)
On this Machine Hyper-V Role is installed.
VirtualBox is running on this Machine quite well!
I didn't try to run Virtual Machines in both Systems at the same time (i will test this soon)
But just having installed Hyper-V doesn't conflict with VirtualBox obviously
andreask
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Mar 2011, 10:43
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows XP / 7

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby Sasquatch » 12. Mar 2011, 14:33

Yes, it does conflict with each other. You will get strange errors when both want to use hardware-V, something that's enabled by default in VB. And since Hyper-V runs as a service, it will lock it so VB cannot use it. If you dump your VMs in software virtualisation mode, then yes, it can run. But you won't be able to run 64 bit guests nor give more than one CPU/core to a VM.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby andreask » 13. Mar 2011, 15:18

Interesting!
This would explain why i cannot use more than 1 Processor on the AMD-Machine.

But it does not solve my main problem.
On the Dell machine there is absolutely nothing installed which could cause this error.
andreask
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 9. Mar 2011, 10:43
Primary OS: MS Windows 2008
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows XP / 7

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby vbox4me2 » 13. Mar 2011, 19:26

If this problem machine is not in use you could try some simple linux 64bit version to see if VBox works on that with your 64 bit Guest and to exclude hardware issues.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: 0x80080005 - again :-(

Postby chrishawn » 10. Jul 2011, 23:56

Again exact same problem.. none of the proposed solutions on any of the questions to date solve this problem

No version up to 4.0.10 works

here's the odd part.. it used to work just fine on this machine and some security patch along the way broke it

ASUS motherboard with i7 - with windows 7

runs fine on all other machines (different hardware) just fine.
chrishawn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. Jul 2011, 23:51
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: windows

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests