VB 3.1.4: "no bridged network adapter is selected"

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
albo
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu

VB 3.1.4: "no bridged network adapter is selected"

Post by albo »

Hi Folks,

I'm new to VB, and trying to set up bridged networking on my win 7 host with an ubuntu guest OS. When I select 'bridged adapter' in the networking settings for adapter 1, i get an error below reading "On the Network: Adapter 1 page, no bridged network adapter is selected". I've tried selecting different adapters, but no dice. I've tried repairing the VB installation, but that didn't change anything. Any ideas? Seems like this has been a problem in some previous releases, but i haven't found it reported elsewhere for this one.

Thanks!
jwizardc
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 9.10

Re: VB 3.1.4: "no bridged network adapter is selected"

Post by jwizardc »

I have the exact same problem on my laptop. I am running Windows 7 Ultimate 32 - bit on a Compaq Presario F730US (dual-core AMD) with 2.5GB + 320GB.
I am currently running 3.2.10.66523-Win.
I have 3 VMs: Ubuntu Server 10.4, Ubuntu desktop 10.4, and Puppy 5.1.1.
When I attempt to enable a network adapter and select Bridged, I get no option to select an adapter name and the error message 'On the Network Adapter x page, no bridged network adapter is selected'.
I am running a nearly identical setup on my XP SP3 box and it works fine.
I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling.
I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling 3.2.8-64453-Win.
I have tried reinstalling 3.2.10 as an upgrade from 3.2.8.
I have tried reinstalling 3.2.10 as a 'repair' install.

Prior to all this, I have been using the Ubuntu desktop as an Apache server to work on web pages and I have had no trouble. I can share folders, FTP, and call my pages up by the name of the VM or by its ip.
I am trying to get some assignments completed and I really do not want to have to use VMWare.