Need help with guest networking please

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Bedlore

Need help with guest networking please

Post by Bedlore »

Hello, I'm quite new to using virtualbox but love the concept. I have installed 1.5.2 on XP and installed a Ubuntu 7.04 guest. It all works well and the guest is able to access the internet via NAT but what I really want is to be able to setup the guest as a LAMP box and be able to see apache webpages from the HOST machine, once it works I will establish a second guest with the only difference been php4 instead of php5.

I have tried many things without sucess can someone please give me some easy to follow instructions on how to achieve this.

very appreciated.
Zebulon

Post by Zebulon »

Hi

Don't use NAT but Host Interface Networking. See the documentation help about Virtual Networking.
6.2. Network Address Translation (NAT)
Two limitations of NAT mode should be mentioned. First, finding Windows shares by browsing is not possible in the default configuration (although they can still be accessed if you know the name or the IP address of the machine that is sharing them). Second, the ping utility will not get a response from the host or other machines outside of the private network. Browsing Windows shares requires the guest to receive incoming TCP and UDP connections on ports 135, 137 and 139, so you can enable this by forwarding those ports to the guest, but this will then prevent the host from using them to browse shares. And the ping utility uses ICMP network packages, which can only be sent by an application with administrator privileges. Since VirtualBox runs as a user application it can not proxy these in NAT mode.

6.3. Introduction to Host Interface Networking (HIF)