Page 4 of 6

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tray

PostPosted: 28. Jun 2011, 09:07
by YogiYang
Thanks for this usable utility.

But I have been using wonderful icon software for minimizing any windows that has minimize button to system tray. I know it does not have all the features that VBoxHeadlessTray has but nevertheless it is a usable utility which makes my life easier.

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tray

PostPosted: 11. Jul 2011, 17:43
by cellleexx
I've been using PowerMenu. Now testing your soft)) thnx

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tray

PostPosted: 22. Jul 2011, 14:54
by DavidA
Is VBoxHeadlessTray 4.0 compatible with VirtualBox 4.1?

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tray

PostPosted: 23. Jul 2011, 18:36
by Shadowww
DavidA wrote:Is VBoxHeadlessTray 4.0 compatible with VirtualBox 4.1?
Nope, seems to be broken - it doesn't lists any VMs when I start it.

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tray

PostPosted: 24. Jul 2011, 22:33
by BobKnock
I recompiled against the updated 4.1 SDK and the machine list re-appears, but VirtualBox does not seem to be sending any machine state change notifications (eg: from Off to Running to Saved etc).

The COM registration seems to work - it'll send events of type VBoxEventType_OnEventSourceChanged but not VBoxEventType_OnMachineStateChanged.

Rather than mess with the COM stuff much more, I modified my copy to just do a timed poll of the state and it appears to work, albeit likely at marginally increased overhead.

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tray

PostPosted: 24. Jul 2011, 22:42
by BobKnock
If anyone wants it you can grab from http://bobknock.com/VBoxHeadlessTray_4.1_modified.zip.

I've made other modifications though (removed the "smart" auto-run entries as I'd rather control it by Windows Startup Folder)

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 28. Nov 2011, 17:39
by gestelia14
I want to compile VBoxHeadlessTray ( in first time with any modification for try).
It's OK, but I haven't machine in a list of select Machine !!!

I use the last version of VBoxheadlessTray : 3919cfb ( updated for 4.1).

I use the last SDK of VirtualBox 4.1.6.

I use Visual Studio 10 for compile on a Window 7 64 bits.


Do you have the same trouble ?

When i use the exe file on repository, It's works, I have my machine in the list !

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 6. Jan 2012, 03:05
by memilanuk
Shadowww wrote:
DavidA wrote:Is VBoxHeadlessTray 4.0 compatible with VirtualBox 4.1?
Nope, seems to be broken - it doesn't lists any VMs when I start it.


Is this going to get fixed any time soon?

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 6. Jan 2012, 14:32
by Hans Eberhardt
Have a look at http://www.toptensoftware.com/VBoxHeadlessTray/, the home of VBoxHeadlessTray:
Version 4.1.0.1
- Updated to work with VirtualBox 4.1
- Due to apparent bugs in VirtualBox itself (not send machine state change notifications), the tray icon may be a little slow to update when starting and stopping the VM through the VirtualBox GUI.

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 6. Jan 2012, 14:59
by memilanuk
Mmm... guess I had v.4.0 (from a link in this thread). It wasn't showing at all after several minutes. 4.1 seems better so far.

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 19. Mar 2012, 04:32
by justinrpg
I have a question... does this work with VirtualBox 4.1.10???

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 1. Apr 2012, 17:38
by stp
Hi all,

i can`t connect to RDP via right klick on tray and select "Open Remote Desktop" a popup comes and say, for this computer can not create a consolsession because a consolsession is already aktive. When i use the Microsoft RDP Client "mstsc.exe" i can connect to the VM.
Where is the problem or what I doing wrong?

Sorry for my bad english!

with kind regards
StP

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 12. Apr 2012, 20:39
by Ian Moone
Is there a way to select more then one vm to power up at a time? I have 10 VMs that I would like to just do a select all then power up

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 17. Apr 2012, 13:11
by justinrpg
justinrpg wrote:I have a question... does this work with VirtualBox 4.1.10???



my question is still not answered! now I need to know if it is compatible with 4.1.12! why is nobody answering??

Re: VBoxHeadlessTray - free utility to run VMs in Windows tr

PostPosted: 19. Apr 2012, 01:46
by justinrpg
Why is NOBODY telling me if this is compatible????