Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 30. Jul 2009, 13:09

I get a blue screen Stop 1e error upon starting a Windows 7 RC guest on a Windows Vista x64 Sp2 box. The box stats are here http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... 60&lang=en
i was previosuly able to start this vm using a Gateway GT5630E with the Intel Core 2 Quad. What info will be needed to further diagnose? Thanks.
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby Perryg » 30. Jul 2009, 17:03

Check that the settings are the same as it was in the other PC.
In particular make sure that the VT-x/AMD-v settings are the same and that IO APIC and the virtual network adapter are them same.
It may be that you simply need to turn off the VT-x/AMD-v in the guest settings.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 30. Jul 2009, 21:43

The settings are the same. What doesn't make sense is that it causes the host to bluescreen.
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 30. Jul 2009, 22:31

It seems on this box, i cannot start a vm of any kind using any combination of settings. Pae on or off, vt on or off.
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby Perryg » 30. Jul 2009, 23:09

Have you tried to download a linux live cd and see if putting it in a VM will allow it to load?
Have you checked the bios to see if the hardware-v has been turned on, or that it has the capability?
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 30. Jul 2009, 23:40

I just tried to load linux and same result blue screen. I do have the vt turned on as well as hardware nx...however in the host software i have nx turned off (bcdedit nx alwaysoff in windows)...this is a core i7 (4 cores with hyperthreading) so windows sees this as 8, could this be an issue?
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby Perryg » 31. Jul 2009, 00:00

Should not matter if everything is set right. Try seeing if you can get a live cd to boot from the CD instead of the host.
Then try to boot the same cd in a VM as live cd. Then you will know if the setting are right.
You should be able to simply leave the settings at default to boot the live cd in the VM.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 31. Jul 2009, 00:15

i tried booting winpe on the host, and it boots fine, i try in the vm using default settings, and blue screen. where can i download the linux live to test with it?
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby Perryg » 31. Jul 2009, 00:37

Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 31. Jul 2009, 04:36

wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 5. Aug 2009, 22:11

OK i have tried to boot any OS and all and still blue screen with 1E error...If it's of any consolation, none of the VMWare products seems to work either (Workstation, GSX). Could this be a problem specific to the Core I7, as my C2Q does not have this isue and runs beautifully. Using 3.04 now
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby Perryg » 5. Aug 2009, 22:33

From a command Window enter the following:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VBoxManage setextradata VMNAME "VBoxInternal/PDM/HaltOnReset" 1

Then start the install/guest.
Screen shot the error window and send it to the Devs, along with your VBoxlog
Bugtracker is at the bottom of my post. You will need to setup an account there as well.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 5. Aug 2009, 22:42

I might not have made this clear, the Host which runs Vbox is what blue screens, i never get to see if the guest starts or not.
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby Perryg » 5. Aug 2009, 23:24

OK so what does the Vista system logs show? Also you should be able to go to Problem reports and solutions (type report in the search bar) and see why Vista crashed. Post that here and we will see what is going on.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Stop 1e error starting Windows 7 RC guest

Postby wrecklesswun » 5. Aug 2009, 23:43

vista log doesn't show anything apparent, event though i have send an event to the event log, and to auto restart, but it doesn't do that either. As well, it is set to do a memory dump, but that file is no where to be found. I have tried reinstalling the entire OS 3 times with the same result. Is there a way i can put virtualbox in a 'safe' mode as to not bluescreen the host, or a log it writes to?
wrecklesswun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. Jul 2009, 13:04
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 7

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests