Page 3 of 3

PostPosted: 25. Dec 2008, 05:15
by eric4life
Same problem for me(XP SP3).

PostPosted: 25. Dec 2008, 05:24
by eric4life
My solution:
1. install 2.0.6. OK.
2. install 2.1.0. say FAILED.
3. resinstall 2.1.0. select Repair. OK.

now, 2.1.0 will work fine.

PostPosted: 26. Dec 2008, 13:51
by Sasquatch
I had it when I upgraded my 2.0.6 on Windows. I installed 2.1.0 as an upgrade, ended prematurely, VB was gone, installed 2.0.6 again, removed it then installed 2.1.0. Worked like a charm.
Now it's possible, like above, that instead of installing 2.0.6 again and remove it, installing 2.1.0 again works too.

Fresh Install

PostPosted: 3. Jan 2009, 20:32
by heit1_32
Hey everyone, I just created this account because I think I have some information that will help you all out a lot.

I just heard about virtual box over Christmas so I have never installed any version of it before. Just now I downloaded the most recent 2.1 version and attempted to install it. It came up with windows errors just like you have all reported and then did a full rollback.

AGAIN, I have NEVER had any virtual box program before. A lot of you are trying to mess around with old installs and re-installing and stuff. But if I had a fresh install and it still didn't work then it surely isnt an issue with old versions you may have had.

I'll be checking back for any solutions. Hope it helps!

PostPosted: 3. Jan 2009, 20:39
by ronlevine
Ditto. I just tried for the first time yesterday and got the errors.

PostPosted: 5. Jan 2009, 14:36
by n0fear
Well it is the Network support. As soon as you activate that in the Installer it does not install 2.1. XP Pro SP3 2.0. does install without any problem. Any idea how to fix that?

PostPosted: 6. Jan 2009, 22:05
by Sasquatch
n0fear wrote:Well it is the Network support. As soon as you activate that in the Installer it does not install 2.1. XP Pro SP3 2.0. does install without any problem. Any idea how to fix that?

Either disable any antivirus/firewall software, or wait for the next release which hopefully has this fixed.

PostPosted: 9. Jan 2009, 14:12
by HellBoyz77
I can confirm that reinstalling the 2.0.6 version, disinstalling it and then reinstalling the 2.1.0 don't work on SP3.

Any other ideas?

PostPosted: 10. Jan 2009, 18:09
by Sasquatch
HellBoyz77 wrote:I can confirm that reinstalling the 2.0.6 version, disinstalling it and then reinstalling the 2.1.0 don't work on SP3.

Any other ideas?

Strange, my Windows system is SP3 and it worked without any issues as posted above.

definately something to do with the network support

PostPosted: 11. Jan 2009, 19:52
by nabamer.
I had this same problem- Vista 64 Home Premium (SP1)

Definately something to do with network support.

2.0.6 installs / uninstalls fine. 2.1.0 won't install unless I deselect network support in the installer.

PostPosted: 5. Feb 2009, 08:23
by traveller
Just got the last release, 2.1.2, exactly same problem on a 100% NEW install. Very good that the technicians of virtualbox do not care of what is said about the bugs of their software, it is now time to look for another more serious supplier!!!

PostPosted: 5. Feb 2009, 16:23
by sandervl
traveller wrote:Just got the last release, 2.1.2, exactly same problem on a 100% NEW install. Very good that the technicians of virtualbox do not care of what is said about the bugs of their software, it is now time to look for another more serious supplier!!!

It's already fixed as people our bug tracker have confirmed with our test builds. Thanks for the compliment though.

2.1.4 will contain the installer fixes.

PostPosted: 22. Feb 2009, 17:18
by airesmsferreira
I still have this problem (or "bug" ?) with the 2.1.4 version!!

Does anybody still have this problem with the new version? Can it be a conflict with something installed on my PC?

PostPosted: 23. Feb 2009, 19:28
by kesselhaus
sandervl wrote:
traveller wrote:Just got the last release, 2.1.2, exactly same problem on a 100% NEW install. Very good that the technicians of virtualbox do not care of what is said about the bugs of their software, it is now time to look for another more serious supplier!!!

It's already fixed as people our bug tracker have confirmed with our test builds. Thanks for the compliment though.

2.1.4 will contain the installer fixes.


Hmm, definitely not here.
And here it seems, the installer can not create a temporary directory.

>>> [Staging Package To Driver Store - phase 1 - VBoxUSB.inf]
>>> Section start 2009/02/23 18:06:26.638
sto: 18:06:26.638 Inf Path = C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox\drivers\USB\device\VBoxUSB.inf
sto: 18:06:26.639 Flags = 0
sto: 18:06:26.639 Processor Architecture = 0
inf: 18:06:26.640 Opened INF: 'C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox\drivers\USB\device\VBoxUSB.inf' ([strings] <src = normal>)
inf: 18:06:26.641 Opened INF: 'C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox\drivers\USB\device\VBoxUSB.inf' ([strings] <src = normal>)
inf: 18:06:26.642 Opened INF: 'C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox\drivers\USB\device\VBoxUSB.inf' ([strings] <src = normal>)
inf: 18:06:26.644 Opened INF: 'C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox\drivers\USB\device\VBoxUSB.inf' ([strings] <src = normal>)
inf: 18:06:26.648 Opened INF: 'C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox\drivers\USB\device\VBoxUSB.inf' ([strings] <src = normal>)
!!! sto: 18:06:26.648 Could not create temporary directory for driver package.
<<< Section end 2009/02/23 18:06:26.649
<<< [Exit status: FAILURE(0x80070005)]

Re:

PostPosted: 11. Apr 2009, 10:12
by sdnrui
sandervl wrote:
traveller wrote:Just got the last release, 2.1.2, exactly same problem on a 100% NEW install. Very good that the technicians of virtualbox do not care of what is said about the bugs of their software, it is now time to look for another more serious supplier!!!

It's already fixed as people our bug tracker have confirmed with our test builds. Thanks for the compliment though.

2.1.4 will contain the installer fixes.


excuse me but I have same problem until now
VirtualBox-2.2.0-45846-Win
host : vista buisiness K sp1
when i excute intall file, "could not create temporary directory" message everytime...and of course it was my first installation.