Win 10 host, CentOS 9 virtual machine, no internet connection

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
SergeyUSA

Win 10 host, CentOS 9 virtual machine, no internet connection

Post by SergeyUSA »

Hey fellas,

I'm new to VirtualBox. I installed VirtualBox Version 6.1.34 r150636 (Qt5.6.2) on my Win 10 and then installed a CentOS 9 Workstation (I downloaded it from here: osboxes dot org -> centos -> centos-9-vbox).

My host PC is using Wi-Fi adapter to connect to my wireless home router. That's how I get access to the internet. On my Win 10 I get my IP address etc via DHCP. My Win 10 IP address is 192.168.1.154, mask is 255.255.255.0, gateway/DHCP is 192.168.1.1 and DNS is 192.168.1.1.

In my CentOS VM settings on the Settings tab I enabled Networkl Adapter and selected "Bridged Adapter" next to "Attached to" option. I selected my wireless adapter. In Advanced options I only enabled "Promiscuous Mode = Allow all" and checked that Cable Connected is also enabled.
VirtualBox internet 1.png
VirtualBox internet 1.png (30.83 KiB) Viewed 1953 times
Unfortunately my CentOS 9 VM doesn't have access to the internet. When I try to ping any web site like Google I get this: "Name or service not known".

When I run ifconfig command I get this result:
VirtualBox internet 2.jpg
VirtualBox internet 2.jpg (113.21 KiB) Viewed 1953 times
PS: Unfortunately I don't know what's the purpose of VirtualBox Host-Only Network adapter in Win 10, but it has these settings:
VirtualBox internet 3.jpg
VirtualBox internet 3.jpg (66.48 KiB) Viewed 1953 times
I already watched a few videos on YouTube but it didn't help. Please advise me on what should I check or which settings I should change.

Thank you.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Win 10 host, CentOS 9 virtual machine, no internet connection

Post by scottgus1 »