Ubuntu VM installation stalls after starting *.iso file

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Tek Unsavvy

Ubuntu VM installation stalls after starting *.iso file

Post by Tek Unsavvy »

I am new to both Linux and VMs. I am following this link to install Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS on Windows 10: linuxiac dot com slash ubuntu-with-virtualbox

I got "ubuntu-20.04.3-desktop-amd64.iso" from: ubuntu dot com slash download/desktop.

I don't encounter any problems in the first section of the procedure "Setting up a Virtual Machine in VirtualBox". It ends with a "Select start-up disk" panel, where I select the *.iso file and click "Start".

My problems begins at the top of the second section "Install Ubuntu in VirtualBox", about a third of the way down. According to the diagram, I should see an "Install"/"Welcome" screen where I select a language and choose to try/install Ubuntu. I have to click "Install Ubuntu".

Unfortunately, I don't see "Install"/"Welcome" screen. I only see a black screen with a single message explaining keyboard capture (tinyurl dot com slash NoInstallUbuntu). If I banish that message, I get left with only the black screen. Clicking around does nothing.

What am I doing wrong? My laptop is an HP EliteBook 840 G6, running i5-8365U. In contrast, the Ubunto *.iso file name above indicates AMD. Would this lead to a dead black screen? If so, how can I get an compatible *.iso file? The Ubuntu download page above doesn't offer any options.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Ubuntu VM installation stalls after starting *.iso file

Post by scottgus1 »

The "amd" runs on Intel, too. AMD invented 64-bit CPUs.

Start the VM from full power off, not save-state. Run until you see the problem happen, then shut down the VM from within the VM OS if possible. If not possible, close the Virtualbox window for the VM with the Power Off option set.