Unable to install VBoxDrv.inf after failing to open session in VM

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
SirChoob

Unable to install VBoxDrv.inf after failing to open session in VM

Post by SirChoob »

Hello! I am very new to this and have fairly limited knowledge regarding any of this software. After getting Xubuntu mounted in VirtualBox, I pressed start and I receive the error message:

NtCreateFile(\Device\VBoxDrvStub) failed: 0xc0000034
STATUS_OBJECT_NAME_NOT_FOUND (0 retries) (rc=_101)

Make sure the kernel module has been loaded successfully.

where: supR3HardenedWinReSpawn what: 3
VERR_OPEN_FAILED (-101) - File/Device open failed. Driver is
probably stuck stopping/starting. Try 'sc.exe query vboxdrv' to
get more information about its state. Rebooting may actually
help.

After looking through several threads, I figured that finding VBoxDrv.inf and right click > installing may potentially solve the problem. When I tried to do this I received the second error message:

The system cannot find message text for message number
0xea6d in the message file for SETUPAPI.dll.

Any ideas on how to solve this? I would greatly appreciate any advice you have, thank you!
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Unable to install VBoxDrv.inf after failing to open session in VM

Post by scottgus1 »

The Virtualbox install really went south. Please uninstall Virtualbox & reboot. Then disable real-time scanning in all security software your host has running. Then reinstall Virtualbox by right-clicking the Virtualbox installer and choose Run As Administrator. The VM will remain ready to use.
SirChoob

Post by SirChoob »