kernel requires an x86_64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Postby petrossa » 21. Oct 2008, 13:30

actually, i have the same problem. Bios,MB Virtualisation enabled. I get same error: your system needs an x64 CPU.

Vista x64 SP1, Phenom 9600, AMI Bios dated september 2008.

Seems to me this a real VB bug.
petrossa
Volunteer
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 17. May 2008, 18:20
Location: france, menton
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: OSx86, Linuxes, vista, win 7

Postby sandervl » 21. Oct 2008, 14:44

petrossa wrote:actually, i have the same problem. Bios,MB Virtualisation enabled. I get same error: your system needs an x64 CPU.

Vista x64 SP1, Phenom 9600, AMI Bios dated september 2008.

Seems to me this a real VB bug.


Could you add your VBox.log to the defect above? Note that quite a few MB vendors are not capable of properly enabling VT-x or AMD-V.
sandervl
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 10. May 2007, 10:27
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux, Solaris

Postby petrossa » 21. Oct 2008, 19:28

sure, will do. But the MB is virtualisation certified. M2A-VM HDMI latest bios. All uitilities is tried indicate virtualisation is up and running.
see screenshot www.petrossa.com/amdcpu.bmp

Sorry.
Last edited by petrossa on 21. Oct 2008, 20:54, edited 2 times in total.
petrossa
Volunteer
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 17. May 2008, 18:20
Location: france, menton
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: OSx86, Linuxes, vista, win 7

Postby SSCBrian » 21. Oct 2008, 19:35

Very strange. No problems like that here. x64 guests work great on my AMD box!
SSCBrian
Volunteer
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 13. Jun 2008, 15:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 8 RTM (MSDN)

Postby Sasquatch » 21. Oct 2008, 20:45

Petrosa, Sander meant that you upload your log file to the defect, not post it here. Please remove your log here and update the bug ticket. You need a separate account for that system.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Postby petrossa » 23. Oct 2008, 12:05

Purely by chance i installed http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/2212#comment:35, because i happened upon it and found startup a bit slow.

After which vista x64 installed without a hitch....Might be a fluke i don't know but it works now
petrossa
Volunteer
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 17. May 2008, 18:20
Location: france, menton
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: OSx86, Linuxes, vista, win 7

kernel requires an x86_64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu

Postby northmilo » 23. Feb 2009, 23:17

Hi,
I had the same problem using VirtualBox 2.1.4 on my laptop lenovo w500.
Solution came fast end efficient :) When setting virtual support in bios there is a note to POWER DOWN machine otherwise the change will not work. I shut down the system, turn off AC and switch off battery for a few seconds.
Now I can easily set up guest Gentoo x64 on vista 64 host.
northmilo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 23. Feb 2009, 21:38

Re: kernel requires an x86_64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu

Postby ilbarto08 » 13. May 2009, 05:43

I have found a solution. The problem is in the Virtual Media Manager. You should release the virtual hard disk from the virtual media manager (menu file), and then mount it again from the virtual machine itself. This error occurs because the state of the virtual hard disk is saved and if in there was a incompatibility (in my case when I install microsoft virtualpc), it is saved and it stays there.
ilbarto08
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 13. May 2009, 05:23
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, windows 7

Re: kernel requires an x86_64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu

Postby philgons » 5. Jul 2009, 01:04

Updating my BIOS solved the problem for me. I have an EVGA nVidia 650i Ultra mainboard with a Q6600 CPU. Updating my BIOS was the only solution that worked for getting VirtualBox to accept a 64-bit guest OS (Ubuntu 9.10 under Vista Home Premium 64-bit).
philgons
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 5. Jul 2009, 01:01
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 9.10

Re: kernel requires an x86_64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu

Postby vbox4me2 » 5. Jul 2009, 14:02

These issues are in the FAQ, its a combo of things that gets vt-x working.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5222
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests