VM as DHCP server for your network

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
datatraveler

VM as DHCP server for your network

Post by datatraveler »

I'm new to networking and only vaguely familiar with VirtualBox; but most of what I'm trying to achieve went smooth. I'm stuck with the DHCP server and at this point I'm not even sure if my configuration of my Virtual machine is done correctly.

I have a windows Host, running Virtualbox 6.1. for an Ubuntu 20.04 Guest. On that physical machine I have two ethernet ports. One is wired to a modem, the other is wired to a switch. The goal is to have my ubuntu Guest act as a DHCP server for all machines connecting to that switch. Like the image below: (can't post it as a link)
i.ibb.co/RjJKmSJ/Screenshot-2021-07-15-135517.png

In the networktab I have enabled two adapters:
- adapter 1 is set to a Bridged Adapter using port X ==> Port X goes to the modem == enp0s3
- adapter 2 is set to a Bridged Adapter using port Y ==> Port Y goes to the switch == enp0s8

When I run that Virtual machine I see both network interfaces. enp0s3 and enp0s8. I have configured ICS DHCP to use interface enp0s8. I've done that in /etc/default/isc-dhcp-server/isc-dhcp-server by setting INTERFACES="enp0s8"

Now I have a switch set upwith a wired connection to a laptop.

journalctl -u dhcpd gives me no logs

journalctl -u isc-dhcp-server gave me error messages when I set up the system, yet after tripplechecking the config it claims to receive DHCPREQUESTS.

Code: Select all

timestamp serverhostname dhcpd[895]: DHCPREQUEST for 10.0.1.3 from macadres (hostnameOfConnectedPC) via enp0s8
timestamp serverhostname dhcpd[895]: DHPACK on 10.0.1.3 to macadres (hostnameOfConnectedPC) via enp0s8
timestamp serverhostname dhcpd[895]: reuse_lease: lease age 17 (secs) under 25% threshold, reply with unalter, exist>
the above three lines keep repeating themselves.

On the connected laptop when I run ipconfig I can see the assigned 10.0.1.3 address.