Failed to Import Virtual Machine

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Lucas7001

Failed to Import Virtual Machine

Post by Lucas7001 »

I looked around and honestly this has been answered before multiple times, however I am a complete newbie and the answers that were given to other people were not explained simply enough for me to understand to please be patient with me.

Failed to import appliance C:\Users\lucas\OneDrive\Documents\Whonix-Gateway-XFCE.ova.

Machine settings file 'C:\Users\lucas\VirtualBox VMs\Whonix-Gateway-XFCE 1\Whonix-Gateway-XFCE 1.vbox' already exists.

Result Code: VBOX_E_FILE_ERROR (0x80BB0004)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {85632c68-b5bb-4316-a900-5eb28d3413df}

So I get this error sometimes when I try to import
I tried deleting the folder its talking about and retrying, that gives me this:

Failed to import appliance C:\Users\lucas\OneDrive\Documents\Whonix-Gateway-XFCE.ova.

Medium 'C:\Users\lucas\VirtualBox VMs\Whonix\Whonix-Gateway-XFCE 1\Whonix-Gateway-XFCE-disk001.vdi' cannot be closed because it is still attached to 1 virtual machines.

Result Code: VBOX_E_OBJECT_IN_USE (0x80BB000C)
Component: MediumWrap
Interface: IMedium {ad47ad09-787b-44ab-b343-a082a3f2dfb1}

This error was answered elsewhere and someone says I must remove the virtual machine connected, but when I open VBox there are no virtual machines listed, I switched laptops and this is I am pretty sure a fresh install, could onedrive be screwing with it?
Another solve was to go to the Virtual Disk Manager and remove it, but I tried using Win+R and finding the VDM, its not listed on my laptop so thats a bust.
Another person recommended disconnecting the host but I dont understand that.

Also I had a little look around virtual box settings from in app and found that if I try and edit any of the properties of my disks, or even simply look at the properties that it says VBox is using, I get this error: