Virtualbox VM Super Slow

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
TS1997

Virtualbox VM Super Slow

Post by TS1997 »

Hello!

I'm a web developer and am currently using a VirtualBox VM with Ubuntu 20.04 64-bit as my "work computer" while working from home but I've never managed to make it run fluently. The problem is that it's always running super slow and is laggy even if I don't have any apps running.

The host machine is running an Intel i7-8700k, 32GB RAM and an ASUS GTX 1080Ti. I've tried a bunch of different VM settings where I've given the VM everything from 1-6 CPU cores, a CPU execution cap of 50-100%, 4-24GB RAM, 128-256MB VRAM and with 3D acceleration enabled and disabled. I've also tried having the VMs virtual disk on a Western Digital Gold HDD and a Samsung 860 EVO SSD. I've also tried both VDI and VMDK as the virtual disk file format. I've also tried two different VirtualBox versions but both are 6.X and I've made sure that the guest additions are for the correct VirtualBox version on both.

I've also tried multiple new VMs so it isn't a specific VM that's giving me trouble but rather any VM including fresh ones. I've also noticed that 3D acceleration makes the VM slower than without which I feel is weird based on the host specs. I've also tried Ubuntu 18.04 with the same results as well as the host on Windows 10 Pro 1809, 1909 and 20H2 but the issue persists across all these. I can also mention that Hyper-V is completely disabled and I'm not running anything in the background on the host while using the VM.