Virtualizing the host?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
DavidSpector

Virtualizing the host?

Post by DavidSpector »

Is it possible to virtualize the host? Reason: so I can test random possibly dangerous stuff then revert back to the original host state. (I already understand about disabling the guest's network adapter.) In other words, can I create a guest that actually is a subset of the resources of the host?

I'm a beginner, so if this question is stupid, I will be happy to delete it.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Virtualizing the host?

Post by scottgus1 »

DavidSpector wrote:Is it possible to virtualize the host?
Yes, with limitations. It's called physical-to-virtual, or P2V. The host OS must be licenseable to be transferred to another PC, and it may deactivate itself on the host when the licensing authority finds it in use on other hardware. OEM licenses or OS's preinstalled on large manufacturers of PC's might not P2V at all. P2V can also be tricky, needing some setup.
DavidSpector wrote:so I can test random possibly dangerous stuff then revert back to the original host state
This one will be harder. The VM is a separate 'PC', so you'd have to P2V it back, with similar setup and licensing issues....

A better idea might e to do a fresh install of the same OS in the VM and experiment on that.
DavidSpector wrote:a subset of the resources of the host?
The VM will use a portion of CPU, memory, and disk space. All the rest f the hardware is virtual and not related to the host hardware.
DavidSpector

Post by DavidSpector »

Thank you! I am pleased that I asked a sensible question.