how do i copy vdi

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

how do i copy vdi

Postby tony10111 » 5. Mar 2021, 17:20

hi i copy vdi from my lapto to my pc am geting this error
Attachments
grub33.PNG
grub33.PNG (8.48 KiB) Viewed 120 times
tony10111
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2. Apr 2018, 07:22

Re: how do i copy vdi

Postby mpack » 5. Mar 2021, 19:15

You don't move a VDI on its own.

Howto: Move a VM.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 33464
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: how do i copy vdi

Postby Dan P » 5. Mar 2021, 21:36

Everything mpack said... clearly.

I use Robocopy on Windows 10 for simple backup of .vhd / .vhi files.

Something like this, in an elevated Command Prompt window:
FromDir - source dir.
ToDir - destination dir
FileVhd - file name of .vhd virtual disk.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Robocopy %FromDir% %ToDir% %FileVhd% /Z /copyall /secfix /timfix /V /TS /FP


Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Example: robocopy   d:\utiluso\virtbox\vhds\    d:\test\   popos_lnx.vdi  /Z /copyall /secfix /timfix /V /TS /FP

Hope this helps. If not moderator please delete....

..
Dan P
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 23. Dec 2019, 18:33

Re: how do i copy vdi

Postby tony10111 » 8. Mar 2021, 05:18

in which path do i run this
Robocopy %FromDir% %ToDir% %FileVhd% /Z /copyall /secfix /timfix /V /TS /FP
tony10111
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2. Apr 2018, 07:22

Re: how do i copy vdi

Postby mpack » 8. Mar 2021, 12:04

I would ignore the RoboCopy advice, it just adds extra things to go wrong. I already gave you a link to the FAQ: I suggest you follow that.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 33464
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: how do i copy vdi

Postby tony10111 » 8. Mar 2021, 12:22

i also just what to copy what dose clone do
tony10111
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2. Apr 2018, 07:22

Re: how do i copy vdi

Postby mpack » 8. Mar 2021, 12:43

Is English a second language? If yes then it might be better if you asked your questions in your native language, which would allow you to give more information and to be clearer about your goals.

Moving a VM from a laptop to a desktop PC an example of MOVING. The FAQ covers this.

A clone is a copy of the VM with various IDs changed, making it possible to have original and cloned VMs running at the same time on one PC, licenses permitting. Your first post gave no indication that this was your intention.

Cloning, when what you should have done was MOVE, would as mentioned result in changed IDs. Among other things this could indeed cause a grub boot fail, if grub happens to be configured to look for the boot disk based on its UUID instead of a slot number on the controller.

Note that exporting to OVA and then importing on the target PC also counts as cloning, as that too results in a new VM with changed IDs.

The best solution either way is to scrap the clone and complete the move as described in the FAQ.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 33464
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests