Kernel Panic When Running VMs

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Thane

Kernel Panic When Running VMs

Post by Thane »

I'm currently a CS student, and during the spring semester, I worked heavily with VMs for my classes.
However, this Fall, I am now unable to get any VMs to boot (freezes shortly after start), they all freeze about when I think the file system is mounting (Kali, Ubuntu, Mint, and Debian tested).
One of the VMs I use is a Kali Linux installation, which when I disable the splash it shows a kernel panic error:

Code: Select all

[0.771525] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unkown-block(0,0)
[0.775317] CPU: 1 PID: 1 Comm: swapper/0 Not tainted 5.9.0-kali1-amd64 #1 Debian 5.9.1-1kali2
[0.778874] Hardware name: innotek GmbH VirtualBox/VirtualBox, BIOS VirtualBox 12/01/2006
[0.782364] Call Trace:
[0.783745]  dump_stack+0x6b/0x88
[0.785443]  panic+0x101/0x2d7
[0.787070]  mount_block_root+0x304/0x313
[0.789164]  prepare_namespace+0x136/0x165
[0.791121]  kernel_init_freeable+0x1ef/0x1fa
[0.793137]  ? rest_init+0xaa/0xaa
[0.794897]  kernel_init+0xa/0x106
[0.796615]  ret_from_fork+0x22/0x30
[0.799172] KernelOffset: 0x2e600000 from 0xffffffff81000000 (relocation range: 0xffffffff80000000-0xffffffffbfffffff)
[0.803134] --- [ end Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0) ]---
Kali-Linux-2020.4-vbox-amd64-2021-01-24-19-40-48.zip
VBox Log
(27.04 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
I've tried:
1.) Disabling Hyper-V
2.) Uninstalling WSL
3.) Different Distros
4.) Updating Windows
5.) Uninstalling Docker
6.) Storing the virtual disk on a different physical disk
7.) All the various combinations of VM settings (more RAM, more VRAM, enabling PAE/NX, more I can't remember)
8.) Different storage controller types (PIIX4, AHCI, NVMe)
9.) Disabling/removing the virtual optical drive
10.) Installing VBox Extension Pack

And at this point, I've exhausted my own knowledge and my google-fu capabilities.