Failed to open a session for the virtual machine

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Brimo

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine

Post by Brimo »

Hi Guys

I'm totally new to VirtualBox and was quite pleased today in cloning my Windows 7 PC to a blank 2TB external drive plugged into the Win 7 PC using disk2vhd. I then installed Virtualbox 6.1 onto the external drive and then brought in the Windows 7 vhd file.

All went well but when I clicked "Start" I got the following error message
"Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Brians Clone of Win7 PC.
The native API dll was not found (C:\Windows\system32\WinHvPlatform.dll)
(VERR_NEM_NOT_AVAILABLE).
AMD-V is disabled in the BIOS (or by the host OS) (VERR_SVM_DISABLED).
Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: ConsoleWrap
Interface: IConsole {872da645-4a9b-1727-bee2-5585105b9eed}"

I also noticed that when in the settings tab there is a flag at the bottom reading "Invalid Settings Detected" see screen shot below
Virtualbox 2nd error message.jpg
Virtualbox 2nd error message.jpg (80.85 KiB) Viewed 5063 times
As stated I am a total newbie with VirtualBox but gather this error might be cured by altering something in the BIOS but I really need advice on what to do as I don't want to make a mess of my original Windows 7 machine.

Thanks in advance
BillG
Volunteer
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 10,7 and earlier

Re: Failed to open a session for the virtual machine

Post by BillG »

VirtualBox version 6.1 requires hardware virtualization support, even for 32-bit guests. Either it is not enabled in the BIOS, or some other program, such as Hyper-V, has it locked. Your processor may not support it, but that is unlikely unless it is a fairly old PC.