Intel AX210 support?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Post Reply
rfanch3r
Posts: 2
Joined: 30. May 2023, 20:51

Intel AX210 support?

Post by rfanch3r »

Is there a solution to getting this working?

I have a GPD laptop there is no virt support setting that I could find, im assuming this is enabled by default, already checked that the Virtual NDIS Bridge network adapter is checked, unchecked, rechecked, rebooted
Changed from Intel Pro MT desktop to server, same result, changed the mac

Anyone have any other ideas that I could try?
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 19808
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Intel AX210 support?

Post by scottgus1 »

Unfortunately, you're a bit, well, "fuzzy" about what the actual problem is.

Apparently an Intel AX210 is a Wi-Fi adapter. And mention of Bridged suggests that you cannot get the VM to connect via Bridged to this Wi-Fi adapter. Is that it?

Bridged does not always work with Wi-Fi, see Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures: Bridged Adapter.

Workarounds are NAT for internet in the VM, Host-Only to connect the VM to the host, or possibly a correct static IP address on Bridged.
mpack
Site Moderator
Posts: 38812
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Intel AX210 support?

Post by mpack »

VirtualBox doesn't need to support host hardware, that's what the host OS is for.

Please provide a VM log file. Make sure the VM is fully shut down, then right click it in the manager UI. Select "Show Log" and save "VBox.log" (no other file) to a zip file. Attach the zip here.
rfanch3r
Posts: 2
Joined: 30. May 2023, 20:51

Re: Intel AX210 support?

Post by rfanch3r »

Here is the log per request
Attachments
Ubuntu-2023-05-31-09-53-00.zip
(33.8 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 19808
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Intel AX210 support?

Post by scottgus1 »

Looks like you are Bridging to the AX210 Wi-Fi adapter, and the cable is connected:
00:00:03.487175 CableConnected <integer> = 0x0000000000000001 (1)
00:00:03.487177 Driver <string> = "IntNet" (cb=7)
00:00:03.487179 Network <string> = "HostInterfaceNetworking-Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6E AX210 160MHz" (cb=55)
Note, don't be put off by the "IntNet", that's the way Bridged works under the hood. If it's IntNet to a physical host adapter, it's Bridged.

Nothing is wrong in Virtualbox. The Networks in Pictures tutorial mentioned above has the info and workarounds to consider.
Post Reply