How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby DrDexter » 16. Sep 2021, 03:30

Booting up then stopped.

How do I solve this?
Attachments
GNS3Fault10.png
GNS3Fault10.png (24.84 KiB) Viewed 2079 times
DrDexter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 14. Sep 2021, 21:46

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby scottgus1 » 16. Sep 2021, 03:33

We need to know more. Looks like a GNS3 VM. How did you get it? Did you make any changes to the settings?

The screenshot shows an EFI boot environment. Did you make the choice to use EFI?
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13246
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby DrDexter » 16. Sep 2021, 04:56

Yes. I selected the choice to use 'EFI'.
DrDexter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 14. Sep 2021, 21:46

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby BillG » 16. Sep 2021, 08:00

I would think you are still in the UEFI shell. Does entering boot do anything?
Bill
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4834
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 7,8,Server

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby fth0 » 16. Sep 2021, 12:25

In the (U)EFI Shell, you can enter exit to get to the Boot Manager.
fth0
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2456
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Location: Germany
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby scottgus1 » 16. Sep 2021, 14:18

DrDexter wrote:Yes. I selected the choice to use 'EFI'.

Thanks. How about my other question?
scottgus1 wrote:How did you get it?

Some OS's can't use EFI. Some OS's come as a prebuilt installation where the settings should not be changed.

In what form did the OS come? ISO, OVA, etc.?
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13246
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby DrDexter » 16. Sep 2021, 17:53

Earlier I received an error message 'FATAL: No bootable medium found'. I was watching YouTube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBJ0xj2Lcf8 and it stated to activate [EFI]. I did and now I am stuck at current location.

I got virtualbox from virtualbox web site. I am using windows 10.
DrDexter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 14. Sep 2021, 21:46

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby scottgus1 » 16. Sep 2021, 17:55

scottgus1 wrote:In what form did the OS come? ISO, OVA, etc.?

This was regarding the VM, not Virtualbox.

In what file format did you get the GNS3 VM? ISO, OVA, etc.?
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13246
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby DrDexter » 17. Sep 2021, 00:48

OVA file.

By the way. Isn't VirtualBox a VM also?
DrDexter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 14. Sep 2021, 21:46

Re: How do I get Virtual Box to continue to Boot Up

Postby scottgus1 » 17. Sep 2021, 01:25

Virtualbox is the hypervisor that runs the VMs.

Virtualbox generates the virtual 'hardware' that is the virtual machine, or VM, or guest. Inside the VM one can install an OS.

DrDexter wrote:OVA file.

Good. This is a previously-configured VM that does not need any configuration changes.

Please remove and delete the existing VM from Virtualbox, as it's bunged up.

Then use the Virtualbox File menu Import command to import the OVA again. Make no changes to the settings. If you run into errors, please post the exact error message without doing anything to the VM.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13246
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests