Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby vsian » 5. Aug 2021, 05:45

Hi, I am trying to create Host Only Network Adaptor in Virtualbox, but encountered the error the error "Querying NetCfgInstanceId failed (0x00000002)." .

Have tried to reinstall but still encountering the same issue. This is a work laptop, so not able to disable antivirus (Windows Defender).

Virtualbox version: 6.1.26 with extension pack
Winver: 21H1 (Build 19043.1110)

Any idea what else can I do to troubleshoot this issue?
Attachments
Virtualbox-Error.png
Virtualbox-Error.png (10.14 KiB) Viewed 2331 times
vsian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Aug 2021, 04:26

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby mpack » 5. Aug 2021, 10:44

AV is not relevant to this problem.

You had an option during VirtualBox installation to install the "Host Only" virtual network card. I'm guessing you either turned that option off, or you didn't have sufficient admin rights to install drivers.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34510
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby cricpy » 5. Aug 2021, 14:50

I have the same problem.
I try to create the host-only adapter and this is the message:
└─$ VBoxManage.exe hostonlyif create
0%...
Progress state: E_INVALIDARG
VBoxManage.exe: error: Failed to create the host-only adapter
VBoxManage.exe: error: Assertion failed: [!aInterfaceName.isEmpty()] at 'F:\tinderbox\win-6.1\src\VBox\Main\src-server\HostNetworkInterfaceImpl.cpp' (76) in long __cdecl HostNetworkInterface::init(class com::Utf8Str,class com::Utf8Str,class com::Guid,enum __MIDL___MIDL_itf_VirtualBox_0000_0000_0046).
VBoxManage.exe: error: Please contact the product vendor!
VBoxManage.exe: error: Details: code E_FAIL (0x80004005), component HostNetworkInterfaceWrap, interface IHostNetworkInterface
VBoxManage.exe: error: Context: "enum RTEXITCODE __cdecl handleCreate(struct HandlerArg *)" at line 95 of file VBoxManageHostonly.cpp

I try re install VBox, check my PC with scf /scannow and nothing...

Any suggestion?
cricpy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 20. Oct 2016, 15:13

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby vsian » 6. Aug 2021, 03:48

mpack wrote:AV is not relevant to this problem.

You had an option during VirtualBox installation to install the "Host Only" virtual network card. I'm guessing you either turned that option off, or you didn't have sufficient admin rights to install drivers.


This is the settings for the installation:
Virtualbox installation.png
Virtualbox installation.png (14.85 KiB) Viewed 2269 times


When I tried with my account with Network Operator Rights to create the Host Only Adaptor, I encountered the following:
Error - User with Network Operator.png
Error - User with Network Operator.png (11.58 KiB) Viewed 2269 times


When I used an account with local admin rights, I encountered the following:
Error - User with Network Operator.png
Error - User with Network Operator.png (11.58 KiB) Viewed 2269 times


Is there a way to install the Virtualbox Host Only Adaptor drivers by itself? As the local admin account does have the rights to install drivers.
Attachments
Error - Local Admin.png
Error - Local Admin.png (11.33 KiB) Viewed 2269 times
vsian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Aug 2021, 04:26

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby fth0 » 6. Aug 2021, 10:02

vsian wrote:Is there a way to install the Virtualbox Host Only Adaptor drivers by itself?

In the Windows Explorer, right click on the following file and select Install:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\drivers\network\netadp6\VBoxNetAdp6.inf
fth0
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2366
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Location: Germany
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby cricpy » 6. Aug 2021, 14:03

I tried to install manually as indicated, but it doesn't work either. In device manager it shows the following error (attached image)
VBox-Ndis.png
VBox-Ndis.png (13.81 KiB) Viewed 2241 times

In the device properties you can see the following:
El dispositivo ROOT\NET\0000 tuvo un problema al iniciarse.
Nombre del controlador: oem4.inf
GUID de clase: {4d36e972-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Servicio: VBoxNetAdp
Filtros inferiores:
Filtros superiores:
Problema: 0x27
Estado del problema: 0xC0000045

I have tried various alternatives and none seem to work.

At the moment it only works in NAT mode

Thank
cricpy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 20. Oct 2016, 15:13

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby jorgensen » 6. Aug 2021, 14:31

vsian wrote:This is a work laptop, so not able to disable antivirus (Windows Defender).

Properly you are not allowed to make changes to the network.
jorgensen
 
Posts: 563
Joined: 20. Oct 2009, 01:22
Primary OS: MS Windows 8.1
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, LinuxMint

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby vsian » 11. Aug 2021, 03:24

The issue managed to resolve after updating my chipset drivers. Not sure how that resolved the issue, but the Virtualbox Host Only adaptor appeared after that.
vsian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Aug 2021, 04:26

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby mpack » 11. Aug 2021, 09:27

The fact that you're up and running is good news. However...

vsian wrote:The issue managed to resolve after updating my chipset drivers

Chipset drivers for what? The Host-Only network card is entirely simulated, it has nothing to do with any physical cards in the host. There are no chipsets to need drivers for.

If you were talking about bridged networking then this would make more sense. Personally I suspect that a host reset might have made the real difference.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34510
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby cricpy » 12. Aug 2021, 00:11

In my case you can "fix" by installing version 6.1.20
For now I do not plan to update.

Greetings
cricpy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 20. Oct 2016, 15:13

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby mpack » 12. Aug 2021, 10:05

Yes, burying your head in the sand instead of understanding the problem - always a good way to go. :roll:
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34510
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby cricpy » 13. Aug 2021, 15:42

I don't think that is burying your head in the ground. But not all of us have that spirit of looking for a solution to everything ... This is not something important to me, so I don't want to invest too much time either.
cricpy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 20. Oct 2016, 15:13

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby vsian » 16. Aug 2021, 02:40

mpack wrote:The fact that you're up and running is good news. However...

vsian wrote:The issue managed to resolve after updating my chipset drivers

Chipset drivers for what? The Host-Only network card is entirely simulated, it has nothing to do with any physical cards in the host. There are no chipsets to need drivers for.

If you were talking about bridged networking then this would make more sense. Personally I suspect that a host reset might have made the real difference.


For my case, I was using a Dell 5310 laptop. I had installed the following chipset drivers and it somehow worked after the installation (+ reboot).

https://www.dell.com/support/home/en-sg ... 310-laptop
vsian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Aug 2021, 04:26

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby Martin » 16. Aug 2021, 09:27

Most probably it was just the (full) reboot which did resolve your problem. ;)
Martin
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2506
Joined: 30. May 2007, 18:05
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Win7, Linux, OS/2

Re: Unable to create Host Only Network Adaptor

Postby vsian » 17. Aug 2021, 02:55

Martin wrote:Most probably it was just the (full) reboot which did resolve your problem. ;)


The laptop had been rebooted multiple times prior to that installation. And the issue resolved after installing the chipset software for 2 other dell laptops. So yeah.
vsian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Aug 2021, 04:26

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests