Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby yvan » 26. Jan 2011, 16:16

Hello,
I know there is a lot a conversation about this subject, but i did'nt find a good answer.So,
I have a WDS Server (2008R2) with the default configuration of NAT. (IP:10.0.2.15)
And i want create another machine in the same network (ex 10.0.2.16) on NAT. And this machine would have the boot pxe enable.
When i try to start my machine, with the default configutation of NAT i have this message :
FATAL: Could not read from the boot medium! System halted.

So i have try this :
Put 2 network cards and this is my result:
the first is PCnet-PCI II and the second is Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop
And i have this message :
Searching for servers (DHCP)....
Me: 10.0.2.15, DHCP: 10.0.2.2, Gateway 10.0.2.2
Loading 10.0.2.4:Windows 7 WDS.pxe .TFTP error 1 (File not found)
Unable to load file.
FATAL: Could not read from the boot medium! System halted.

Can you help me please :p
yvan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26. Jan 2011, 16:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Mandriva
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby mpack » 26. Jan 2011, 16:55

VirtualBox simulates a legacy PC. I don't think networking booting is supported by the virtual BIOS, just as USB booting is not supported.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13166
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby yvan » 26. Jan 2011, 17:02

I'm sure it's possible to boot in pxe with virtualbox
yvan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26. Jan 2011, 16:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Mandriva
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby Perryg » 26. Jan 2011, 17:26

Yes it is possible to boot to the network and yes it is possible to use PXE. Look at network issues and naming conventions.
See Chapter 6.3.2 PXE booting with NAT in your VirtualBox users manual. All requirements are there.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25939
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby yvan » 26. Jan 2011, 17:35

Ok i have read this doc before i and really don't understand. There is a tutorial for this kind of configuration ?
i don't understand the goal of the file vmname.pxe i have to create it ??
yvan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26. Jan 2011, 16:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Mandriva
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby Perryg » 26. Jan 2011, 17:45

Exactly! As the statement says it is the users responsibility to create the vmname.pxe.
There is no way that anyone would know what or how you want to do this. A little research in how to create this file should get you the help you need though.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25939
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby mpack » 26. Jan 2011, 19:03

Perryg wrote:Yes it is possible to boot to the network and yes it is possible to use PXE. ... See Chapter 6.3.2 PXE booting with NAT in your VirtualBox users manual.

Well so it is - I stand corrected! :) I never knew that any kind of "funny" boot was supported, though I can't see myself using this one.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13166
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby yvan » 26. Jan 2011, 23:37

I didn't find anything about that, each time people using bridge access.
And if i will create a example.pxe file i will put in the folder who contains the source of the virtual machine.
My virtual doesn't boot with dhcp and virtualbox don't create any files about this VM.
A idea ?
yvan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26. Jan 2011, 16:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Mandriva
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby Perryg » 26. Jan 2011, 23:47

Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25939
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby yvan » 27. Jan 2011, 00:01

Thanks for your post
but I use WDS now, RIS server is too old.
I continue my research
yvan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26. Jan 2011, 16:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Mandriva
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Enable PXE with NAT for WDS

Postby Perryg » 27. Jan 2011, 00:13

Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25939
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 25 guests