Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby abcuser » 20. Nov 2009, 13:07

Hi,
I have a desktop PC that supports VT-x and has single dual core processor. I have virtual machine that had 1 CPU defined. Now I have changed in VirtualBox GUI to 2 CPUs. Starting guest OS and I still see only one CPU (single column in Windows Task Manager). Is this OK? What does it means "Processors" in VirtualBox? Is it physical processor or it should also run on dual-core single CPU?
Regards

My system:
- Ubuntu 8.04 LTS (host),
- VirtualBox 3.0.10,
- Windows XP SP3 (guest.
abcuser
Volunteer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 10. May 2007, 20:03
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby Sasquatch » 20. Nov 2009, 13:30

Please use the search as described in the Forum Posting Guide. You need to change the CPU driver before the guest can use the second core/CPU.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby abcuser » 20. Nov 2009, 20:53

Sorry, I have already googled around and just can't fine any useful info about 2-cpus. "Change CPU driver"?
abcuser
Volunteer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 10. May 2007, 20:03
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby Sasquatch » 20. Nov 2009, 21:11

Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby abcuser » 23. Nov 2009, 14:08

Hi,
I have set 2 CPUs in VirtualBox GUI and then started virtual machine and followed external links about settings 2 CPUs:
1. I removed CPU drivers from Device Manager in Windows XP SP3.
2. Reboot
3. Install CPU driver - there was no "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" available to select from. It was only "Intel Processors" and "Processors" - I selected Intel.
4. Reboot
5. In Device Manager there are two processors displayed, but in Task Manager these is only one CPU displayed.

BTW, today I have upgraded to VBox 3.0.12.
Attachments
cpu.PNG
In Device Manager there are two CPUs displayed, but in Task Manager there is only one displayed (only one CPU column)
cpu.PNG (91.1 KiB) Viewed 5332 times
dev_man.PNG
There was no "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" available to select only Intel Processor and Processor.
dev_man.PNG (18.34 KiB) Viewed 5325 times
abcuser
Volunteer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 10. May 2007, 20:03
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby Sasquatch » 23. Nov 2009, 14:49

Check the View section of Task Manager. You can let it show one graph for both CPU's, or one per CPU.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby abcuser » 24. Nov 2009, 09:52

Hi,
I have checked and there is only "one CPU".
Regards
Attachments
cpu.PNG
cpu.PNG (13.03 KiB) Viewed 5211 times
abcuser
Volunteer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 10. May 2007, 20:03
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby Sasquatch » 24. Nov 2009, 10:52

Then it seems that the only thing you see, is the HyperThreading feature of the CPU, instead of the real two cores/CPUs you gave it. Or, that's also possible, you don't have the multiprocessor kernel running.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby MarkCranness » 24. Nov 2009, 12:07

Sasquatch wrote:Or, that's also possible, you don't have the multiprocessor kernel running.

I think that's the case. To get 'ACPI Multiprocessor PC', you will likely have to install it from your original install CD, or maybe it can be obtained from Windows Update. Do the Device Manager>Update Driver thing, but with your XP install CD in your CD drive.
MarkCranness
Volunteer
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 10. Oct 2009, 06:27
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2008 R2; Ubuntu 11.04; Windows 2000 Server; Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby Sasquatch » 24. Nov 2009, 12:12

You should not need the Windows CD, but it's a good idea to keep it nearby.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby MarkCranness » 24. Nov 2009, 13:04

Oh, IMPORTANT: Don't Update Driver your Processors, you must Update Driver your Computer (second item from the top).

In general, whether you need your XP install CD depends upon what has already been copied to your system32 folder.
If the 'ACPI Multiprocessor PC' HAL (=Halmacpi.dll) is already there, you won't need the CD, otherwise you will.

Or it may be harder than that...
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/309283
Windows XP Device Manager and Windows Server 2003 Device Manager list limited choices for changing your HAL type when you click Update Driver. ...
... I'm not sure that you will be able to select the 'ACPI Multiprocessor PC' HAL.
http://www.myitforum.com/articles/15/view.asp?id=8997

These links claims to have solutions:
http://www.hardware.info/en-US/news/ym2cmZqYwp2a/Problems_updating_to_a_dualcore_CPU_Not_anymore/
http://java.akraievoy.org/2009/01/changing-windows-xp-hal.html
 
MarkCranness
Volunteer
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 10. Oct 2009, 06:27
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2008 R2; Ubuntu 11.04; Windows 2000 Server; Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby abcuser » 24. Nov 2009, 14:55

MarkCranness wrote:Oh, IMPORTANT: Don't Update Driver your Processors, you must Update Driver your Computer (second item from the top).

Hi,
you are right, I just updated the wrong driver. I should update "Computer" driver. I tried to update driver, but "ACPI Multiprocesor PC" is not listed in the list of available CPUs.
Regards
Attachments
cpu_computer.PNG
cpu_computer.PNG (56.93 KiB) Viewed 5154 times
abcuser
Volunteer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 10. May 2007, 20:03
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby abcuser » 24. Nov 2009, 14:58


Hi,
thanks a lot. I have downloaded simple program to change HAL, start the program, select "ACPI Multiprocesor PC" and restarted Windows. After reboot I can see two CPUs in Windows. It looks like Windows didn't recognized the change of hardware...
Thanks a lot for help.
Regards
Attachments
2_cpu.PNG
2_cpu.PNG (24.51 KiB) Viewed 5151 times
abcuser
Volunteer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 10. May 2007, 20:03
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Windows XP

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby FrodoHobbits » 24. Nov 2009, 22:32

The zip file seems to be corrupt, could someone please post a location where I could download a clean zip file.
My searchs have come up with nothing.
Thanks in advance
FrodoHobbits
 
Posts: 198
Joined: 18. Apr 2009, 08:20
Location: Radstock, UK
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, QNX & Linux

Re: Is dual core CPU the same as 2 CPUs in VirtualBox?

Postby Sasquatch » 24. Nov 2009, 22:37

FrodoHobbits wrote:The zip file seems to be corrupt, could someone please post a location where I could download a clean zip file.
My searchs have come up with nothing.
Thanks in advance

Are you sure you're posting in the right place?
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Next

Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests