CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Allgemeine Diskussionen über den Einsatz von VirtualBox.

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 30. Apr 2015, 12:52

Well, I don't see what you are doing wrong.

What you could do is use the hex editor to save the first 16K of each file to another file. Then zip up the four x 16K fragments and attach the zip here. I'll take a look and see why CloneVDI doesn't like them.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 30. Apr 2015, 12:59

Exporting a hexdump as *.txt is ok?

See file attached. :)
Attachments
Hexdumps_Snapshots.zip
(19.33 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 30. Apr 2015, 13:03

I didn't ask for a hexdump. I need the actual first 16K of each binary. CloneVDI won't open a hexdump.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 30. Apr 2015, 13:10

oh, sorry. misunderstood that.

attached the files now. is that right?
Attachments
16K.zip
(1.78 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 30. Apr 2015, 13:12

Well, apart from a misunderstanding about the term "K", yes, at first glance that looks fine. :) I'll report back later.

(K in computing == 1024 bytes. So 16K == 16384 bytes. Byte == 8 bits).
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 30. Apr 2015, 13:32

CloneVDI successfully opens the files for me, i.e. it successfully follows the chain of links back to the base VDI. Of course it fails a later part because the files have been truncated.

What CloneVDI version are you using?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 30. Apr 2015, 14:06

v2.10 ...

Can you click on "proceed" or does this fail 'cause of the corrupted files?
If I click on it, it says "it's a difference image .... "
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 30. Apr 2015, 15:00

"Proceed" is not available to me, because of course the files fail validation due to an incomplete header. A 50GB VDI has a 200K header, so I would need the first (say) 220K from each file in order to test it that far. You might be able to provide this as multiple attachments, zipped of course.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 30. Apr 2015, 15:22

Hope this time I understand 220K the right way! :D
Attachments
220K.zip
(2.73 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 30. Apr 2015, 15:45

Yes thanks, you provided exactly the information I asked for, unfortunately I made a mistake in my request. It turns out that the block map is 200K, but the block map occurs 1024K into the file, and that really is too large to deal with here.

So, what I did instead was comment out that part of the validation check, and then CloneVDI was perfectly happy to open all four files, validation was "Ok" and the "Proceed" button is enabled.

Are you absolutely sure you are opening the correct file?, i.e. reading from the folder where you have all four VDI files together? You might like to copy all four files to another drive or another PC and try it again there, since provided the OS is not blocking access to these files you should have no problem opening them.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 4. May 2015, 10:14

Hey,

I want to open the latest snapshot: "{f2158dec-e9f0-4a21-84e9-00b078c1af76}.vdi"

I attach a screenshot of which file I want to open and the error message.
Attachments
CloneVDI.PNG
CloneVDI.PNG (65.6 KiB) Viewed 1864 times
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 4. May 2015, 11:52

Is that the same folder you showed me previously? The message means that the complete snapshot chain is not present, I don't know what else to tell you.

For example, I see that you are opening the VDI in the Snapshots subfolder, which typically does not contain the base VDI. Did you move it there?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 4. May 2015, 12:13

Yep, same folder as on my prev screenshot, all VDIs inside, also base one.
Snapshot chain should also be complete, as showed in another screenshot. And you tested it as well.

Don't know what else to do ...
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby mpack » 4. May 2015, 13:19

As you can see from the screenshot below, I am able to open your selected snapshot and get to the point where CloneVDI would start creating the clone, if only all the input files were not truncated in my case.

Image1.png
Image1.png (19.23 KiB) Viewed 1853 times


Did you try running CloneVDI on another PC as I asked? It is possible that some kind of permissions issue is preventing one or more of your files from being accessible on your normal host.

The only other difference I see is that I'm running my current experimental version of CloneVDI (v2.11), whereas you are running the last release version (v2.10). I don't know of any difference in v2.11 that would help you, but you may want to give it a try anyway, so I've attached that too. In fact this version was created to help a past forum user who had corrupted his VDIs, this version deliberately weakens CloneVDI's error checking in order to force a clone to be created if at all possible. This build option was turned off for my testing of your files, but I've turned it on for you to try. Maybe this will help you too, maybe not.
Attachments
CloneVDI_v2_11_hacked.zip
(101.32 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25489
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI Werkzeug FAQ und Diskussionen

Postby pkopp » 20. May 2015, 11:05

Sorry for my delayed answer.

So first, I do not have another computer where I can run CloneVDI.
Permission issues should be solved cause I am Administrator and these are the Administrator's files. :)

I will check tomorrow if it works with you hacked version and will give you some feedback! ;)
pkopp
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27. Apr 2015, 14:06

PreviousNext

Return to Allgemeine Diskussionen

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests