Hello,
I have issues setting up bridged networking on a FreeBSD host with a FreeBSD guest, at my usual dedicated hosting provider.
So far I haven't succeeded communicating with the guest, though I can see what it displays with VNC.
The host setup is as follows:
- FreeBSD 11.1
- VirtualBox 5.2.12_1 (no x11)
- network card: igb0
- ip : x.x.27.43
- gw: x.x.27.1
- all the configuration described at https://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO88 ... albox.html
- vm set up with --nictype1 virtio --nic1 bridged --bridgeadapter1 igb0 --macaddress1 yyyyyyyyyyyyyy
- I use the network card directly (igb0) and the virtual MAC address that the hosting provider is telling me to use
The guest setup is as follows:
- FreeBSD 11.1
- network card: vtnet0
- ip : x.x.37.63 (an "IP failover address" pointing to my host server)
- gw: 62.210.0.1 (a completely different gateway that the provider tells me to use with VMs)
What am I missing?
Do I need to put some routing info to direct the IP traffic to my VM failover IP / virtual MAC addresses?
Do I need to use a bridge+tap device like I did a few years back?
Best regards,
[Resolved] Bridged networking with FreeBSD 11.1 / VirtualBox 5.2.12
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: 24. Nov 2009, 11:01
- Primary OS: FreeBSD
- VBox Version: OSE other
- Guest OSses: FreeBSD, OpenSolaris, and several Linuxes
[Resolved] Bridged networking with FreeBSD 11.1 / VirtualBox 5.2.12
Last edited by HubTou on 20. Jun 2018, 23:29, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: 24. Nov 2009, 11:01
- Primary OS: FreeBSD
- VBox Version: OSE other
- Guest OSses: FreeBSD, OpenSolaris, and several Linuxes
Re: Bridged networking with FreeBSD 11.1 / VirtualBox 5.2.12
Following the instructions at https://www.geeklan.co.uk/?p=2109 I tried the following config, but I'm still not able to communicate with or outside the guest:
- In the host:
- in /boot/loader.conf:
Code: Select all
vboxdrv_load="YES" if_bridge_load="YES" if_tap_load="YES"
- in /etc/sysctl.conf:
Code: Select all
net.link.tap.up_on_open=1 net.link.tap.user_open=1
- in /etc/rc.conf:
Code: Select all
hostname="sd-133804.dedibox.fr" ifconfig_igb0="inet 195.154.27.43 netmask 0xffffff00" defaultrouter="195.154.27.1" cloned_interfaces="bridge0 tap0" ifconfig_tap0="ether 00:50:56:01:69:98" ifconfig_bridge0="addm igb0 addm tap0 up" vboxnet_enable="YES"
- in the guest creation script:
Code: Select all
VBoxManage createvm --name MY_VM --ostype FreeBSD_64 --register VBoxManage modifyvm MY_VM --nictype1 virtio --nic1 bridged --bridgeadapter1 tap0 --macaddress1 005056016998
- ifconfig command result:
Code: Select all
igb0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500 options=2400b9<RXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6> ether 18:66:da:99:c4:8f hwaddr 18:66:da:99:c4:8f inet 195.154.27.43 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 195.154.27.255 nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL> media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>) status: active bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500 ether 02:ae:57:84:1d:00 nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED> groups: bridge id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15 maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200 root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0 member: tap0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP> ifmaxaddr 0 port 7 priority 128 path cost 2000000 member: igb0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP> ifmaxaddr 0 port 3 priority 128 path cost 2000000 tap0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500 options=80000<LINKSTATE> ether 00:50:56:01:69:98 hwaddr 00:bd:91:fc:f6:00 nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL> media: Ethernet autoselect status: active groups: tap Opened by PID 7413
- in /boot/loader.conf:
- In the guest:
- in /etc/rc.conf:
Code: Select all
hostname="MY_FQDN" ifconfig_vtnet0="inet 195.154.37.63 netmask 255.255.255.255" static_routes="gateway default" route_gateway="-host 195.154.27.1 -interface vtnet0" route_default="default 195.154.27.1"
- in /etc/rc.conf:
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: 24. Nov 2009, 11:01
- Primary OS: FreeBSD
- VBox Version: OSE other
- Guest OSses: FreeBSD, OpenSolaris, and several Linuxes
Re: Bridged networking with FreeBSD 11.1 / VirtualBox 5.2.12
I finally succeeded.
My error was to try to set the virtual MAC address in the host network config, rather than letting VirtualBox define it.
Without the following line, everything works fine:
Best regards,
My error was to try to set the virtual MAC address in the host network config, rather than letting VirtualBox define it.
Without the following line, everything works fine:
Code: Select all
ifconfig_tap0="ether 00:50:56:01:69:98"
-
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 27330
- Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
- Primary OS: Mac OS X other
- VBox Version: PUEL
- Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5
- Location: Greece
Re: [Resolved] Bridged networking with FreeBSD 11.1 / VirtualBox 5.2.12
Thanks for the feedback, I hope that someone finds it helpful. And thank you for marking the topic as [Resolved]... 

Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.