DOS Guest & Win 10 Host: File Manager does not work

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.
Vidiot

DOS Guest & Win 10 Host: File Manager does not work

Post by Vidiot »

Hi all,

I've tinkered with DOS-Box before but this is my first time using Oracle. My host machine is Windows 10 and Oracle is the latest (6.1 I think). I've downloaded and installed a prefab Oracle image for DOS 6.22 & Win 3.11. It works in every respect except for one. When I try to use the built in file manager, it shows my host file system on the left but wont access the guest file system. The right side ramains empty. I have checked that the extensions feature has been "installed" although something may have gone wrong. Because I can not find any method of transferring files that works.
I have tried creating a blank floppy image but I can not find any way to edit it.
I've tried creating an image file with other software but that was not readable by Oracle.
I've tried setting up a shared folder but how do you use that in dos?
I've tried using the common clipboard feature to copy and paste between win 3.11 and win 10, no luck

When in the file manager, it shows red blanks for a guest userid and password, but what userid & password is there for DOS?

Thanks in advance for any help!
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: DOS Guest & Win 10 Host: File Manager does not work

Post by mpack »

Vidiot wrote:I've downloaded and installed a prefab Oracle image for DOS 6.22 & Win 3.11. It works in every respect except for one. When I try to use the built in file manager, it shows my host file system on the left but wont access the guest file system.
You didn't get that "prefab image" from any official place, so that there is a problem.