Freedos 1.2 access a usb stick or just FTP Server inside freedos

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.

Freedos 1.2 access a usb stick or just FTP Server inside freedos

Postby Peacock » 4. Feb 2018, 23:57

One Post later i will explain a fast dirty ftp howto (is maybe the faster way, to put files to dos, and also edit some configs too)

Please read the idle problem for ftpserver a few post below

Floppy Image with USB DOS Driver
http://www.filedropper.com/dosusb
I made the floppy image called dosusb.img, is a collection of usb drivers for dos, freedos, and the F2H archive, witch is offline right now. Someone keep it, an reup it. (30 days after last download , is autodelet from filedropper)
Or someone take a heart, an keep it on www server for us, and tell us the fixed url in a post.


Attach dosusb.img to virtualbox dos A: drive.


Virtualbox 5.2.6
OS Other/DOS
USB 1.1 (OHCI) only this work by me

Preparing for the work, you need a Filemanger, i prefer dz, install it in freedos when you have freedos 1.2 iso mountet in virtualbox.

c:\fdnpkg install d:\util\doszip.zip (Tipp: use 2xTAB for autocomplete sometimes)


So here we go:

USBASPI.SYS (V2.20 only) and DI1000DD.sys

(on dosusb.img Floppy , it is usbaspi5.sys )

In C:\fdconfig.sys you need make the changes for activat.

Just press: cfg (Enter) will open fdconfig.sys in Editor. There in you add 3 lines:

In the Menu Part a new line:
MENU 5 - Load FreeDOS with EMM386 and USB HD Drive ACCESS

and then at the End of the file new 2 lines:
5?DEVICE=\FDOS\USBDOS\USBASPI5.SYS /v /o
5?DEVICE=\FDOS\USBDOS\DI1000DD.SYS

And if you see any Line with 2? inside - all there also change to with 25? and all is ok.

Like this example:

SET DOSDIR=C:\FDOS

!COUNTRY=001,858,C:\FDOS\BIN\COUNTRY.SYS
!LASTDRIVE=Z
!BUFFERS=20
!FILES=40
!MENUCOLOR=7,0

MENUDEFAULT=2,1
MENU 1 - Load FreeDOS with JEMMEX, no EMS (most UMBs), max RAM free
MENU 2 - Load FreeDOS with EMM386 (Expanded Memory) and SHARE loaded
MENU 3 - Load FreeDOS without drivers (Emergency Mode)
MENU 4 - Load FreeDOS low with some drivers (Safe Mode)
MENU 5 - Load FreeDOS with EMM386 and USB HD Drive ACCESS

1245?DOS=HIGH
125?DOS=UMB
1245?DOSDATA=UMB
1?DEVICE=C:\FDOS\BIN\JEMMEX.EXE NOEMS X=TEST I=TEST NOVME NOINVLPG
2345?DEVICE=C:\FDOS\BIN\HIMEMX.EXE
25?DEVICE=C:\FDOS\BIN\JEMM386.EXE X=TEST I=TEST I=B000-B7FF NOVME NOINVLPG
34?SHELL=C:\FDOS\BIN\COMMAND.COM C:\FDOS\BIN /E:1024 /P=C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT
125?SHELLHIGH=C:\FDOS\BIN\COMMAND.COM C:\FDOS\BIN /E:1024 /P=C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT
125?COUNTRY=041,850,\FDOS\BIN\COUNTRY.SYS
125?INSTALL=\FDOS\BIN\KILLER.COM
5?DEVICE=\FDOS\USBDOS\USBASPI5.SYS /v /o
5?DEVICE=\FDOS\USBDOS\DI1000DD.SYS


And just copy USBDOS Folder from Floppy to C:\FDOS , you can use dz Filemanager for that job.

The Parameters for usbaspi.sys:

Just as INFO Mögliche Parameter:
device=(path)\USBASPI.SYS [/e] [/o] [/u] [/w] [/v] [/l[=n]]
[/f] /r] [/slow] [/nocbc] [/norst] [/noprt]
Standartmäßig scannt der Treiber alle 3 USB Spezifikationen,
man kann dies aber auch mit den folgenden Parametern einschränken:
/e für (USB 2.0)
/o für (neueres USB 1.x)
/u für (älteres USB 1.x)

Weitere Parameter:
/w Wait, zeigt eine Nachricht, Einbinden oder Überspringen
des USB device
/v Verbose, zeigt Status - Nachricht - empfohlen
/l[=n] LUN, specifies highest LUN # to be attached to device
ID (default=0)

Stop DOS by make:
halt (ENTER)


Plug the USB Stick, and in Virutalbox USB add as a fix USB Device in DOS Client

Then start the VM and use Menu 5


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Swiss German Keyboard an Freedos

An ohter, i poste also here, swiss german Keyboard Layout (so via google the people can find)
display mode con prepare ega and stuff you don't need. You need only autostart.bat

C:\auto (Enter) end edit it:

lh keyb sg,,keyboard.sys
REM mkeyb us

reboot
Last edited by Peacock on 10. Feb 2018, 11:45, edited 13 times in total.
Peacock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 19. Feb 2010, 10:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Debian, WindowsXP

Freedos 1.2 Fast Dirty FTP Howto

Postby Peacock » 5. Feb 2018, 08:28

Virtualbox 5.2.6
OS Other/DOS
Network: Network Brige (Netzwerk Brücke) You will get a home IP from your Modem


Good you have Freedos 1.2 installed on a Virtualbox Machine, booting allready form HD (from the .vdi file :) )

You need the Freedos 1.2 Install ISO mountet on the CD ROM in Virtual Maschine. In Freedos D: is your CD Drive in this examples.

Install

NET
For Networking, starts with DHCP. For fix IP you can put a MAC assign DHCP in your Modem. Or you edit inside freedos a fix IP.
c:\fdnpkg install d:\net\fdnet.zip

reset (ENTER) I got a ip after reboot. And i get a \fdos\mtcp.cfg file first time. The minimum of this file is in \fdos\network\mtcp.cfg (don't touch it)

FTP (this can be an server or client, we use the server, but only if we start it)
c:\fdnpkg install d:\net\mtcp.zip


Config

c:\auto (Enter) (add a line like:)
set OS_NAME=FreeDOS
set OS_VERSION=1.2
set MTCPCFG=\fdos\mtcp.cfg (if you have fix ip, mybe you build your own file, but i use the system one because DHCP auto IP)

c:\edit fdos\mtcp.cfg (the other stuff will updatet by DHCP, your added lines will stay)
FTPSRV_PASSWORD_FILE \MTCP\passwd.txt
FTPSRV_LOG_FILE \MTCP\ftplog.txt
MTU 1500


c:\edit mtcp\passwd.txt

user 1234 /drive_c/ [any] all all


Start the ftp Server in DOS
c:\mtcp\ftpsrv.exe

So you only need to allow the ftp protocol in your HOST Machine Firewall , or give the hole DOS IP free ( best )

To take datas, a www browser ftp://yourdosip or a ftp client you can put datas to dos.

This is a Dirty Manual because the simple user with password 1234 and can do all with the files. Normally we make something like that /drive_c/ftpdir and some restrictions.

More you can read in mtcp\ftppass.txt and the other txt files.

Tipp: if you have just net, an outside in the HOST Maschine a www server, you can use wget in dos. c:\fdnpkg install d:\net\wget.zip. Search in the Internet the use of it. But you can also use the ftpclient from mtcp projekt in DOS.

Links for Networking
http://wiki.freedos.org/wiki/index.php/ ... king_HowTo
http://wiki.freedos.org/wiki/index.php/ ... S_-_WATTCP
http://www.brutman.com/mTCP/mTCP_2015-07-05.pdf
Last edited by Peacock on 9. Feb 2018, 13:28, edited 1 time in total.
Peacock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 19. Feb 2010, 10:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Debian, WindowsXP

Freedos 1.2 in Virutalbox fixed IP

Postby Peacock » 6. Feb 2018, 12:11

hi all,
It looks bigger as it is. If you did one ore two time, it is a very simple job.


Required a Freedos 1.2 ISO (CD Image File from Download) and then install the fdnet.zip

Freedos is installed on the virtual drive and boot from there. And the ISO CD Image is mountet as CD ROM into Virutal Machine Freedos (in my case D: is the virtual cd drive)


Tipp: Use the Networkbrige in the Virtualbox freedos Networking Window, so you get a IP from the local home IP range. So DOS and your Host PC or other home pc's can talk together.


Install fdnet.zip and reboot for first file of c:\fdos\mtcp.cfg
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
C:\fdnpkg install d:\net\fdnet.zip
reset (Enter)


You must see an IP allocated for you, in the first started freedos screen. (so we got a mtcp.cfg file filled)


Maybe you install also the ftp Packages, for server or client, if not use, it will not take any CPU Power. A Post befor is written how to setup.

So you have two ways

1. Setting up the Modem
You can set up your Modem, it allways give the same IP out to freedos, for that it uses the MAC Number in the Network Interfaces Options. But you will see in a Status Window the MAC Number in the Modem too.


2. We set a fiexed IP inside Freedos 1.2 in a fast way (not offizial)
I search the simplest way, a small hack, so don't must edit a lot.

We allready got a IP from Modem from DHCP, ok? It means we have did a reboot after installing fdnet.zip

A small Backup
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
copy  c:\fdos\wattcp.cfg  c:\fdos\wattcp.bak
copy  c:\fdos\bin\fdnet.bat c:\fdos\bin\fdnet.bak


Disable DHCP
I let the rest of fdnet.bat work for me, to install the net pakage drivers, but disable the DHCP
edit c:\fdos\bin\fdnet.bat

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
:DHCP
rem DHCP.EXE      (just rem DHCP)

At the end of the batch file, last 7 Lines

We set the fix IP and delete leasetime line
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
edit c:\fdos\mtcp.cfg

and edit to correct fit.

Looks like that, after editing:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
DHCPVER DHCP Client version May 23 2013
TIMESTAMP ( 1517858063 ) Mon Feb  5 14:14:23 2018
PACKETINT 0x60
HOSTNAME doshub
FTPSRV_PASSWORD_FILE \mtcp\passwd.txt
FTPSRV_LOG_FILE \mtcp\ftplog.txt
IPADDR 172.21.0.29
NETMASK 255.255.255.0
GATEWAY 172.21.0.1
NAMESERVER 62.2.17.60
MTU 1500


You use your ip's for IPADDR,NETMASK,GATEWAY;NAMESERVER, witch you allready got. If you want, you can take google NAMESERVER 8.8.8.8


We set up the wattcp.cfg for compatibility

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
copy c:\fdos\mtcp.cfg  c:\fdos\wattcp.cfg

and edit to correct fit.

Looks like that after editing:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
my_ip = 172.21.0.29
netmask = 255.255.255.0
gateway = 172.21.0.1
nameserver = 62.2.17.60


Reboot the Freedos
reset (Enter)

Ok all is Done


Optional: You want go back to DHCP funcionality?

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
copy  c:\fdos\wattcp.bak  c:\fdos\wattcp.cfg
copy  c:\fdos\bin\fdnet.bak c:\fdos\fdnet.bat


Reboot the Freedos an you have DHCP back.
reset (Enter)
Last edited by Peacock on 10. Feb 2018, 10:15, edited 2 times in total.
Peacock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 19. Feb 2010, 10:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Debian, WindowsXP

Re: Freedos 1.2 access a usb stick or just FTP Server inside freedos

Postby socratis » 6. Feb 2018, 14:30

@Peacock
Who were you replying to in your last message? All in all, there are three messages in this thread, all posted by you.

???
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 19292
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

each post have a title , each post is a howto

Postby Peacock » 6. Feb 2018, 17:44

:roll:
Peacock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 19. Feb 2010, 10:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Debian, WindowsXP

idle problem for ftpserver

Postby Peacock » 10. Feb 2018, 09:59

I see some problem, by tcp/ip speed, and logouts from the ftpserver.

First i tray dosidle, but he makes me problem, when i using the ndis stuff (not ftpserver). So i think, for the ftpserver is better to turn off the apm.

the best way is you creat a file in

edit c:\fdos\bin\ftps.bat
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
fdapm APMoff
c:\mtcp\ftpsrv.exe
fdapm APMdos


so you just start the ftpserver by typing: ftps Enter
Peacock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 19. Feb 2010, 10:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Debian, WindowsXP


Return to Other Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests