Which host server?

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.
tinkertanya

Which host server?

Post by tinkertanya »

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on the forum - just started a database development course from home. I am half way through my first assignment on VirtualBox & trying to sift through hundreds of post on the forum for an answer.

Referring to the Oracle white papers online as a guideline, I have created a recommendation scenario for a supply chain logistics company with 150 staff and two warehouses. VM calc is 180GB, with 12 cores, but I don't know which host server is best suited based on this RAM & CPU capacity.

Any particular suggestions?
tinkertanya
:mrgreen:
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Which host server?

Post by socratis »

What do you mean "VM calc"? Calculations? I'm not very good at abbreviations.
And does 180 GB refer to RAM?
And finally, are you asking for specific hardware recommendation that can hold such a VM?
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
tinkertanya

Post by tinkertanya »

Virtual memory calculations & yes I mean base memory requirement.
With reference to the white paper on Oracle's website, I have changed the company size to reflect my
own scenario/calculations for my assignment. The 'Oracle Sun X4170 M2 server range' is recommended
based on 500 users. I am wanting to recommend for 150 users.

Further info from the design proposal I am referring to (as I cant post a weblink at this point in time).
Quote: 'Calculating Total Memory Requirements for Virtualization