Tutorial : How to install OS/2 Warp 4

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.

Tutorial : How to install OS/2 Warp 4

Postby FlatEric » 26. Jan 2012, 05:34

Welcome to my tutorial for :

How to install OS/2 Warp 4

Tested on : Virtual PC2007

Requirements :
------------------VirtualBox any version
------------------Virtual PC2007
------------------Blank .img files

I have a 3.00Ghz Dell computer with 768DDR2 Ram And Intel Extreme Graphics 2 + ATI RAGE HD (Not used in this test)
And got it working like a charm.
My method on how i got it working without any error or freezes, maybe long loadings but understandable for an old os.
1st: you need to get ahold of an iso or maybe a cd of your own.
2nd:Get windows 3.11 (I didint test W3.11 for workgrps)
3rd: Get a floppy image of Dos6.22.
4th: insert that floppy image and boot the computer, dont need the iso yet, type : A: Fdisk.
5th: Create a partition FAT or Unknown (Havent tried FAT)
6th:Reboot the computer by pressing file, ctrl+alt+del or Reset.
7th:Keep the floppy in, and type : A: Format C:
8th: press yes.
9th:Install windows 3.11 either with floppys or iso using the dos6.22 floppy.
10th:This is where your warp4 iso comes in and the blank img files. In my method i used 3 copys of windows95boot.img renamed Install.img,Disk1.img,Disk2.img. So make sure you have that ready. go on file manager and go in your cdrom drive, click cdinst and it will open a dos window saying, press enter. Well press enter then L: lol. It will ask for the first blank floppy, put in your blank or renamed img disk1.img then disk2.img, then install.img.
11th: Forgot to tell i now went to virtual pc. Because for some reason the version of Virtual box i was using when making the 10th step, it would hang at 3 percent making the first floppy img. Got the same hard disk, 2gb, half-ly partitioned(Not entirely used for dual booting xD) with 200ram setting. booting with the install.img with the iso captured, putting disk1,2.
For those who are impatient, yes the first OSWARP loading screen is long dont worry, its working its way there.
And finally getting the installer to work, ingoring any problems the installer gives me and continuing till it asks for the TCP/IP
Subnet mask which is : IP address: 192.168.17.2 network mask: 255.255.255.0.
Then just letting it flow easy with no further warnings :>.

IF anything should be added, post it :> people will see it, maybe sticky it :P so people can post more of their experience and more people will get help from others's exp.

Have fun with OS/2 Warp 4!!
FlatEric
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25. Jan 2012, 19:35
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: OS/2-2.13/OS/2-4.0/Windows98SE/Visi On

Re: Tutorial : How to install OS/2 Warp 4

Postby michaln » 26. Jan 2012, 10:32

I'm sorry to say that this is the most unnecessarily complicated OS/2 installation tutorial I have ever seen.

The hassle with installing DOS (and Windows 3.x! why?) is a complete waste of time. All one needs to do instead is insert the OS/2 installation CD into the host's drive (or mount an image of it one way or another) and copy out DISK0.DSK, DISK1_CD.DSK, and DISK2.DSK from \DISKIMGS\OS2\35. Those are boot floppy images which can be fed directly into VirtualBox.

Needless to say, the IP address given in the tutorial probably won't work for most people either. OS/2 Warp 4 (or later) should be typically configured to use DHCP instead.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 1246
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: Tutorial : How to install OS/2 Warp 4

Postby FlatEric » 26. Jan 2012, 14:43

michaln wrote:I'm sorry to say that this is the most unnecessarily complicated OS/2 installation tutorial I have ever seen.


Well i posted this because yours and other's tutorial didint work for me.

The hassle with installing DOS (and Windows 3.x! why?) is a complete waste of time. All one needs to do instead is insert the OS/2 installation CD into the host's drive (or mount an image of it one way or another) and copy out DISK0.DSK, DISK1_CD.DSK, and DISK2.DSK from \DISKIMGS\OS2\35. Those are boot floppy images which can be fed directly into VirtualBox.


I know that but in either virtualbox or virtual pc, Hang at first loading screen/Give a binary error after 2nd .dsk. Why windows 3.11? Because i need something to boot into to get to my cdinst and create my img files.

Needless to say, the IP address given in the tutorial probably won't work for most people either. OS/2 Warp 4 (or later) should be typically configured to use DHCP instead.


I can agree on this but again, for me did not work, i had to do it manually.
Before this try with everything i put in my tutorial, i couldn't even get to the installation.
Mostly the part with img files, very important.

--Edit-- let me say this, at least this is foolproof to work in any way.
--Edit-- images that i already had? nonono, those images from many torrents i tried, it would give me an error for some reason in any kind of VM out there. Some of em would give me the Incorrect size error because it was 1byte bigger @_o?
Last edited by FlatEric on 26. Jan 2012, 15:14, edited 2 times in total.
FlatEric
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25. Jan 2012, 19:35
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: OS/2-2.13/OS/2-4.0/Windows98SE/Visi On

Re: Tutorial : How to install OS/2 Warp 4

Postby michaln » 26. Jan 2012, 15:05

Do you realize what CDINST does? It takes the three floppy images I mentioned and copies them to floppies. If, after going through all the steps, you end up with images that aren't identical to DISK0.DSK, DISK1_CD.DSK, and DISK2.DSK, then something went wrong. On the other hand, if everything went right, you just wasted a lot of time recreating floppy images that you already had.

I still don't understand the need for Windows 3.11. You can't boot into Windows; you can boot into DOS and then run Windows. The CDINST.BAT script does not need Windows, it only needs DOS with a CD-ROM driver. It's true that it may not work on VirtualBox because formatting floppy images in VM doesn't work too well. Then again, it's not necessary at all.

Manually entering an IP address should of course work. However, the specific IP address you suggested will probably work for very few people besides you. That was my point.

Sorry to burst your bubble...
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 1246
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all


Return to Other Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest