ALT - for ASCII Characters

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.
BMANN06

ALT - for ASCII Characters

Post by BMANN06 »

Afternoon All,

I'm fairly new to VirtualBox, I have a DOS VM that runs a Configurator Program for an old HMI system. I'm having an issue accessing the ASCII Symbol list, ie: ALT-249 for the square box. Is the ALT key specially reserved or is there another method i can use to get to the access the ALT and keypad function.

I do appear to get this written to the log when attempting and ALT keypad function:
00:17:54.013290 VMMDev: Guest Log: BIOS: KBD: int09h_handler(): scancode & asciicode are zero?

Thanks very much for your time in reviewing
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: ALT - for ASCII Characters

Post by scottgus1 »

I could get the degree symbol to appear in Notepad by typing Alt-0176, but the same procedure did not show anything in my DOS VM.

Can you show a setup procedure so I can test what you're expecting over here? I'm not all that DOS-experienced.
BMANN06

Post by BMANN06 »

scottgus1 wrote:I could get the degree symbol to appear in Notepad by typing Alt-0176, but the same procedure did not show anything in my DOS VM.

Can you show a setup procedure so I can test what you're expecting over here? I'm not all that DOS-experienced.
What you described is exactly the symptom i'm experiencing, i have a different symbol table but it works the same way as the ° (ALT 0176), I've recently converted this system from a DOS Steelbox (physical machine) to a VM, it works on the steel box but the keyboard emulation doesn't appear to be passing the ALT to the guest, I believe it is passing it to the host.

This making any sense?

Brian
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Post by mpack »