Can't mount macOS High Sierra 10.13 .dmg

For discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X pre-releases

Can't mount macOS High Sierra 10.13 .dmg

Postby chrishatch1973 » 13. Sep 2017, 21:04

:? Getting the following error when trying to create a High Sierra VM.

The DMG does mount, but VirtualBox refuses to use it for a VM.

Failed to open the disk image file /Volumes/L/Software 2016/Mac OS X/10.13 High Sierra/MacOS_High_Sierra_v10.13[Developer_Beta_4]/macOS_10.13_Beta_4[17A315i].dmg.

Could not open the medium '/Volumes/L/Software 2016/Mac OS X/10.13 High Sierra/MacOS_High_Sierra_v10.13[Developer_Beta_4]/macOS_10.13_Beta_4[17A315i].dmg'.
VD: error VERR_VD_DMG_INVALID_HEADER opening image file '/Volumes/L/Software 2016/Mac OS X/10.13 High Sierra/MacOS_High_Sierra_v10.13[Developer_Beta_4]/macOS_10.13_Beta_4[17A315i].dmg' (VERR_VD_DMG_INVALID_HEADER).

Result Code:
NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component:
MediumWrap
Interface:
IMedium {4afe423b-43e0-e9d0-82e8-ceb307940dda}
Callee:
IVirtualBox {0169423f-46b4-cde9-91af-1e9d5b6cd945}
Callee RC:
VBOX_E_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND (0x80BB0001)
chrishatch1973
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 13. Sep 2017, 20:54

Re: Can't mount macOS High Sierra 10.13 .dmg

Postby socratis » 13. Sep 2017, 22:25

Where and how did you get that 10.13 DMG? As far as I know, there is not a stand-alone installer of 10.13.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27690
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Can't mount macOS High Sierra 10.13 .dmg

Postby chrishatch1973 » 15. Sep 2017, 14:29

The DMG was shared on another forum.

As stated previously, the DMG will mount but VirtualBox will not recognize it.

How does one install High Sierra in a VM?
chrishatch1973
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 13. Sep 2017, 20:54

Re: Can't mount macOS High Sierra 10.13 .dmg

Postby socratis » 15. Sep 2017, 14:41

chrishatch1973 wrote:The DMG was shared on another forum.
I really don't want to know about it. Do I? ;)

chrishatch1973 wrote:As stated previously, the DMG will mount but VirtualBox will not recognize it.
I have opened a ticket about this, #16847: Incomplete DMG support, but I guess it's not a high priority. You could try to change the DMG to an ISO.

chrishatch1973 wrote:How does one install High Sierra in a VM?
Not possible at the moment. Apple has changed the way that they boot from the EFI. We're trying to debug/hack/decipher what's going on during the boot phase of 10.13, but the information is scarce (to say the least). There are two options at the moment:
  • Upgrade an existing VM running 10.x
  • Hunt down the switches passed on to the EFI and try to make your way there.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27690
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X pre-releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests