Page 1 of 1

[FIXED] Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 17:22
by steveh
In the VirtualBox Manager GUI Network settings, if the adapter is attached to "Host-only Adapter" then the "Name" drop-down only offers "Not selected" and the following error is displayed:
On the Network: Adapter n page, no host-only network adapter is selected
This affects both new VMs and existing VMs created with earlier versions and already configured with a host-only adapter.

(Otherwise, Windows 8 RP guests are working a lot better, thanks)

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 19:02
by Rui Baptista
Similar situation with bridged network, no adapters to select.
Old VMs wont run, giving "Nonexisting host networking interface, name "..."

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 20:39
by Rui Baptista
After all, host-only may work if you go to preferences and configure it manually, it's working with me :D

On the bridged network issue, the vbox bridged network driver is not installed

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 21:11
by Rui Baptista
OK, the whole thing is working after uninstall + clean install

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 21:47
by misha
Rui Baptista wrote:OK, the whole thing is working after uninstall + clean install

This is most likely an installer Host-Only update issue. From which VBox version did you update and which Host-Only configuration (how many host-only adapters) did you have before the update?

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 22:06
by Rui Baptista
Previous version was 4.1.18-78361, and I had only the default host-only adapter.

On a side note, the replacement install suggests a windows restart, that was unusual with previous releases. And yes, I did restart. The clean install doesn't say anything. Maybe in the replacement the adapters install was postponed to after restart, and then fail?

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 4. Aug 2012, 23:04
by steveh
I also updated from 4.1.18. It didn't seem to matter how many adapters were defined (I created a new VM and couldn't configure even the first adapter as Host-only).
As Rui pointed out, after adding a new host-only adapter in "Preferences", things were back to normal - but I don't recall having had to do that before...

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 6. Aug 2012, 14:31
by Dest
Same issue here. All existing virtual machines complain about invalid network adapter.

This was an upgrade from 4.1.18 (Windows 7 64bit host).

Interestingly enough, the issue has only appeared after a reboot. After initial install I didn't reboot and all virtual machines worked as expected.

The logfile reports:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
00:00:01.402558 AssertLogRel E:\tinderbox\win-rel\src\VBox\Main\src-client\ConsoleImpl2.cpp(4000) int __cdecl Console::configNetwork(const char *,unsigned int,unsigned int,struct INetworkAdapter *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,bool,bool): <NULL>
00:00:01.402571 NetworkAttachmentType_Bridged: FindByName failed, rc=E_INVALIDARG (0x80070057)VMSetError: E:\tinderbox\win-rel\src\VBox\Main\src-client\ConsoleImpl2.cpp(4001) int __cdecl Console::configNetwork(const char *,unsigned int,unsigned int,struct INetworkAdapter *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,bool,bool); rc=VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR
00:00:01.405107 VMSetError: Nonexistent host networking interface, name 'Intel(R) 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection'
00:00:01.405600 ERROR [COM]: aRC=E_ACCESSDENIED (0x80070005) aIID={db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392} aComponent={Console} aText={The virtual machine is not powered up}, preserve=false
00:00:01.557518 ERROR [COM]: aRC=E_FAIL (0x80004005) aIID={db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392} aComponent={Console} aText={Nonexistent host networking interface, name 'Intel(R) 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection' (VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR)}, preserve=false


After a full uninstall, reboot, reinstall things are working as expected

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 7. Aug 2012, 12:34
by mpack
I can confirm that - on an XP Pro 32bit host - if you install v4.2.0 over v4.1.18 without first uninstalling the latter, then the old host-only adapter driver is removed, but the new one is not installed. An uninstall+reinstall+reboot fixed it.

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

PostPosted: 7. Aug 2012, 12:47
by misha
We've reproduced and are aware of this problem. Both host-only and bridged networking drivers do not get installed properly as well as a host reboot is requested due to VBox installer issues.
This issues should be fixed soon hopefully (all our developers are currently busy with some other urgent stuff), and we'll let you know as soon as it is fixed.
The issue araises only when installing on top of some previous VBox version, so a workaround is to uninstall VBox and then install it again.

Re: [FIXED] Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settin

PostPosted: 21. Aug 2012, 14:27
by frank
Fix will be part of VBox 4.2.0-RC2.