How i can change system hardware ID's?

Discussion about using the VirtualBox API, Tutorials, Samples.

How i can change system hardware ID's?

Postby Alchemysta » 26. Jul 2013, 17:53

Hello!

#Host system: OS X 10.8.4
#Guest system: Windows XP SP3
#VirtualBox version: 4.2.12

I'm already successfully change all DMI strings on VBox machine! This question is not about DMI! It's about system ID's!

But if i check machine with AIDA64, i see:

System board section:
ID System board: <VBox>
System board: VirtualBox Virtual Platform

BIOS section:
BIOS type: VirtualBox Virtual

ACPI section:
OEM ID: VBOX
OEM Table ID: VBOXAPIC

and more "<VBOX>" strings in this section....

How i can change it? I need special vboxmanage extradata keys for modding hardware id's...
I can't use specific software...
Many thanks!
Alchemysta
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26. Jul 2013, 15:38

Re: How i can change system hardware ID's?

Postby rousseauhk » 31. Jul 2013, 07:11

The API has a IBIOSSettings interface, but there doesn't appear to be any way to set these things specifically - it looks like you can only fiddle with the BIOS splash screen at the moment.

I'll have a poke around in the code when I get a free moment to see if I can come up with any other suggestions.

cheers
Steve
rousseauhk
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 8. Apr 2013, 09:16
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu Server

Re: How i can change system hardware ID's?

Postby noteirak » 31. Jul 2013, 08:47

AFAIK there isn't any access from the API to these. You would need to setup some dark setitngs via extradata keys (also doable in the API) or by modifying the source.
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://kamax.io/hbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
noteirak
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: 13. Jan 2012, 11:14
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7


Return to The VirtualBox API

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests