Error installing Guest Additions

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
ptoye
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux (Debian-derived)

Error installing Guest Additions

Post by ptoye »

I'm a VBox and Linux newbie, so please be gentle.
I need to install a Debian-derived guest into a Windows 10 host - that installation went OK. But I also want the Guest Additions, and ran into problems. I looked at the HOWTO page and mounted the ISO image virtual CD OK and then did an apt-get to install missing bits (most were already there). That all seemed to work.
I tried

Code: Select all

sudo ./autorun.sh
but got an error message:

Linux guest additions installer not found -- try to start them manually.
So I tried

sudo ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
and it said

This system appears to have a version of the VirtualBox Guest Additions already installed....
But I can't get the clipboard to work (hence the typos in my reporting) - is there anything else I need to do? I've rebooted the guest.
Peter
_johnny

Re: Error installing Guest Additions

Post by _johnny »

You have to also enable the shared clipboard in your virtual machine settings page. (Settings -> General -> Advanced)
mpack
Site Moderator
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Post by mpack »

Please post a VM log file. With the VM fully shut down, right click and "Show Log" in the GUI, save "VBox.log" (no other file) to a zip, and attach the zip here.
ptoye

Post by ptoye »

_johnny wrote:You have to also enable the shared clipboard in your virtual machine settings page. (Settings -> General -> Advanced)
Should have said - I'd already done that.

It seems that the VBox clipboard software isn't running properly in the guest. A helpful techie on the guest software site showed me how to get it running, so I'm sorted now. Would be good to know why, though.
Peter
ptoye

Post by ptoye »