Page 2 of 2

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 16:59
by Larvae
Since I tried multiple things I found in different forums I have already rebooted several times after I added myself to vboxsf.

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 18:59
by socratis
Again, what's the output of "id". If it doesn't show that you're a part of the 'vboxsf' group, you're not doing it right. If I remember correctly, the proper command is:

    usermod -a -G vboxsf <YourUsername>
Reboot and verify membership to the 'vboxsf' with:

    id

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 19:21
by Larvae
The output of "id" stays the same.

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 19:22
by socratis
Then something is wrong with your setup.

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 19:29
by Larvae
Looks like there was an error in the group id. Now "id" says I'm in vboxsf. But there's still no difference regarding the shared folders.

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 19:31
by Larvae
Now those (empty, pw protected, auto mounted) folders are in group root...

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 20:58
by socratis
Larvae wrote:Looks like there was an error in the group id
Like?

Larvae wrote:Now those folders are in group root
What folders? Where are they? What do they look like? Permissions? (in Unix-like style)

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 21:39
by Larvae
1. For some reason vboxsf had an id that was already in use.

2. The folders created by VirtualBox as auto mounting points for the shared folders. They are in my home directory and have the following permissions
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
drwxr-x--- 2 root     root     4096 Mai 27 10:46 sf_first
drwxr-x--- 2 root     root     4096 Mai 27 10:46 sf_second

Deleting and rebooting doesnt change them. And, like I said before, mounting them manually doesn't work either.

Re: Shared folder problems

PostPosted: 21. Aug 2019, 10:15
by fearshot
Larvae wrote:Deleting and rebooting doesnt change them. And, like I said before, mounting them manually doesn't work either.

Hi folks! @Larvae, did you solve it?