Network settings: good connection but no internet access

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.

Network settings: good connection but no internet access

Postby al.duplat » 31. Mar 2019, 04:34

Host: Windows 10 Pro x64 Guest:
Linux (Manjaro) x64 VB: 6.0.4

I lost the ability to browse the internet, but I have network connection based on the following tests:

ifconfig:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
enp0s3: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.2.15  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 10.0.2.255
        inet6 fe80::3184:7b10:b882:ecb3  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:00:27:c5:43:03  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 5271  bytes 3809155 (3.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 5393  bytes 1048003 (1023.4 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s8: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 08:00:27:74:69:6b  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 1787  bytes 504378 (492.5 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1808  bytes 194586 (190.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 303  bytes 39769 (38.8 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 303  bytes 39769 (38.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

Several pings:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
2019-03-30 20:57:59 ⌚  ad-mnsu in ~
○ → ping 1.1.1.1
PING 1.1.1.1 (1.1.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=48 time=40.2 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=48 time=40.7 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=48 time=40.0 ms
^C
--- 1.1.1.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 3 received, 25% packet loss, time 5ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 40.046/40.321/40.731/0.375 ms

 2019-03-30 20:58:06 ⌚  ad-mnsu in ~
○ → ping 10.0.2.1
PING 10.0.2.1 (10.0.2.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 10.0.2.15 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.2.15 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.2.15 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
^C
--- 10.0.2.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 44ms
pipe 4

FYI: I can also ping a web-page address but the rules of this forums cannot allow me show this part.

However, when I open Firefox and try to go to any web page, I cannot reach anything.

If my problem is related to “firewalls, proxies, antivirus filters, web-cleaning applications, redirectors, etc” in Windows 10, I need some assistance in order to know what the next step is.

Thank you
al.duplat
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 31. Mar 2019, 03:36

Re: Network settings: good connection but no internet access

Postby socratis » 31. Mar 2019, 05:17

al.duplat wrote:I lost the ability to browse the internet
As in... you had the ability at some point?

al.duplat wrote:However, when I open Firefox and try to go to any web page, I cannot reach anything.
If you can "ping <DefaultGateway>", if you can "ping <DNSserver>", if you can "ping 1.1.1.1", if you can "ping download.virtualbox.org", VirtualBox is working as it should. You should look elsewhere for your networking connectivity. Look in your host for firewalls, proxies, antivirus filters, web-cleaning applications, redirectors, etc., especially if you're talking about http browsing...

That means that there is a program that runs on your host. By default there's no restriction, so if you have one, look for 3rd party "helpers"...

al.duplat wrote:ping 10.0.2.1
That's not your default gateway in NAT mode, 10.0.2.2 is, and your DNS should be 10.0.2.3. Instead of "ifconfig", try the "nmcli d show" command, much better layout and amount of info.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25934
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Network settings: good connection but no internet access

Postby al.duplat » 2. Apr 2019, 06:41

Yes. I have been using Virtualbox for the last 8 months without a problem.
Last week I upgrade the host and guest machines and then, I lost the ability to browse the web.

I don't know if this is a problem caused by the host machine or the guest.

This is the result of "mncli d show":
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
GENERAL.DEVICE:                         enp0s3
GENERAL.TYPE:                           ethernet
GENERAL.HWADDR:                         08:00:27:76:E2:61
GENERAL.MTU:                            1500
GENERAL.STATE:                          100 (connected)
GENERAL.CONNECTION:                     Wired connection 2
GENERAL.CON-PATH:                       /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/1
WIRED-PROPERTIES.CARRIER:               on
IP4.ADDRESS[1]:                         192.168.1.115/24
IP4.GATEWAY:                            192.168.1.1
IP4.ROUTE[1]:                           dst = 0.0.0.0/0, nh = 192.168.1.1, mt = 100
IP4.ROUTE[2]:                           dst = 192.168.1.0/24, nh = 0.0.0.0, mt = 100
IP4.DNS[1]:                             208.67.222.220
IP4.DNS[2]:                             208.67.220.222
IP4.DNS[3]:                             192.168.1.1
IP4.DOMAIN[1]:                          consolidated.net
IP6.ADDRESS[1]:                         fe80::791b:313c:12a1:e338/64
IP6.GATEWAY:                            --
IP6.ROUTE[1]:                           dst = fe80::/64, nh = ::, mt = 100
IP6.ROUTE[2]:                           dst = ff00::/8, nh = ::, mt = 256, table=255

GENERAL.DEVICE:                         enp0s8
GENERAL.TYPE:                           ethernet
GENERAL.HWADDR:                         08:00:27:74:69:6B
GENERAL.MTU:                            1500
GENERAL.STATE:                          20 (unavailable)
GENERAL.CONNECTION:                     --
GENERAL.CON-PATH:                       --
WIRED-PROPERTIES.CARRIER:               off

GENERAL.DEVICE:                         lo
GENERAL.TYPE:                           loopback
GENERAL.HWADDR:                         00:00:00:00:00:00
GENERAL.MTU:                            65536
lines 1-34
al.duplat
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 31. Mar 2019, 03:36

Re: Network settings: good connection but no internet access

Postby socratis » 2. Apr 2019, 07:39

al.duplat wrote:This is the result of "mncli d show":
I'm sorry, but this is a completely different setup from when you originally posted. This looks more like Bridged. A heavily modified Bridged configuration. You've messed with it, it seems...

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
IP4.ADDRESS[1]:                         192.168.1.115/24
IP4.GATEWAY:                            192.168.1.1
IP4.DNS[1]:                             208.67.222.220
IP4.DNS[2]:                             208.67.220.222
IP4.DNS[3]:                             192.168.1.1
Once again: if you can ping what I told you to ping, VirtualBox is working as it should. I don't know how to make this clearer that you should be looking beyond VirtualBox...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25934
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Linux Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Underground78 and 17 guests