[Fixed] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.

[Fixed] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Postby Anon560487 » 21. Mar 2019, 16:06


ModEdit; related ticket: #18518: VRDPing to a VM with VMSVGA sends only 1 frame, then screen updates stop - Fixed with r129665 or later

Hi VB community! First time posting after searching a while for an answer to my issue regarding the video stream hanging or freezing from the windows RDP. So here I have a Windows Host (A), my BattleStation (B) et the Mint VM Guest (C)

I activated the remote display on my guest VM and installed the Guest Additions. I have setup the port to not interfere with anything (3390) and I'm able to connect from my BattleStation to the Mint VM using the Host (A) ipaddress with (C) port (3390). Connection is successful but after the first frame, the video freeze and I can't do anything. In the preview window, I can see the menu opening and folder showing.

The same thing happens when I connect from the Host (A) to the Mint VM (C) using locahost:3390.

I've read the logs with no error indicating any problem.

When I run lsmod on the guest vm, I get this:
ps1.jpg
ps1.jpg (16.25 KiB) Viewed 805 times


Windows Host and Battlestation are on Windows 10 home.
VM Guest is Linux Mint 19.1

Thank you for any input or feedback.
Last edited by socratis on 13. Apr 2019, 09:19, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Added ticket related information.
Anon560487
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21. Mar 2019, 15:56

Re: I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby socratis » 21. Mar 2019, 17:58

Anon560487 wrote:I have a Windows Host (A), my BattleStation (B) et the Mint VM Guest (C)
I know what a host (A) is, and I know what a guest (B) is. Can you explain what "BattleStation (B)" is, another host, another guest? What are you supposed to do? I haven't figured it out from the description so far. What's the setup(?) trying to do?
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby Anon560487 » 21. Mar 2019, 18:46

My Battlestation is another computer on the network. I initiate an RDP connection to the host with the guess port. The connection works but only the first frame, then I can't interact with the guess. But I know I can interact with it because the VirtualBox preview shows that I can open menu, folder etc but my Battlestation doesnt see that.

I'm trying to use the VM in headless mode.

Not sure if I explained it better.
Anon560487
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21. Mar 2019, 15:56

Re: I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby socratis » 21. Mar 2019, 19:50

Yes, thank you. In VirtualBox-speak, you have two computers on your LAN: the host (A) and "BattleStation" (C). And you want to connect to the VM (B) from (C).

Let's leave C out of the equation for the moment, since by re-reading the posts, this seems to happen from the host as well. Let's simplify the problem...

So, I want you to try to connect to the guest from the host, i.e. rdp://127.0.0.1:3389/. We need to see a complete VBox.log, from a complete VM run, where the problem occurs:
  • Start the VM from cold-boot (not from a paused or saved state) / Observe problem, i.e try to connect / Shutdown the VM (force close it if you have to).
  • With the VM completely shut down (not paused or saved), right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager and select "Show Log".
  • Save only the first "VBox.log", ZIP it and attach it to your response. See the "Upload attachment" tab below the reply form.
Image
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby Anon560487 » 21. Mar 2019, 19:58

So here the result of Vbox.log
I used the host to connect to guest (localhost:3390) after a complete power-up.

Linux Mint-2019-03-21-13-54-28.zip
(29.09 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Anon560487
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21. Mar 2019, 15:56

Re: I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby socratis » 22. Mar 2019, 02:14

These are the RDP related entries from the VBox.log, included mainly for reference:
00:00:52.411008 Audio: Enabling input for driver 'AudioVRDE'
00:01:13.540455 VRDP: New connection:
00:01:13.540688 VRDP: Connection opened (IPv6): 0
00:01:13.541890 VRDP: Negotiating security method with the client.
00:01:13.543893 VRDP: failed to access the server certificate file '': VERR_FILE_NOT_FOUND
00:01:13.544021 VRDP: Connection closed: 0
00:01:13.559120 VRDP: New connection:
00:01:13.559225 VRDP: Connection opened (IPv6): 1
00:01:13.559447 VRDP: Negotiating security method with the client.
00:01:13.575679 VRDP: Methods 0x0000001b
00:01:13.575722 VRDP: Channel: [rdpdr] [1004]. Accepted.
00:01:13.575743 VRDP: Channel: [rdpsnd] [1005]. Accepted.
00:01:13.575834 VRDP: Channel: [cliprdr] [1006]. Accepted.
00:01:13.575863 VRDP: Channel: [drdynvc] [1007]. Accepted.
00:01:13.575883 VRDP: Unsupported SEC_TAG: 0xC006/8. Skipping.
00:01:13.575904 VRDP: Unsupported SEC_TAG: 0xC00A/8. Skipping.
00:01:13.649919 VRDP: Client seems to be MSFT.
00:01:13.649957 VRDP: Logon: TOM-WRKSTN (::1) build 17134. User: [] Domain: [] Screen: 0
00:01:13.650183 AUTH: User: []. Domain: []. Authentication type: [Null]
00:01:13.650205 AUTH: Access granted.
00:01:13.652040 VRDP: Enabling upstream audio.
00:01:13.652103 VBVA: VRDP acceleration has been requested.
00:01:13.658362 VRDP: SunFlsh disabled.
00:01:13.716827 VRDP: SCARD enabled for 2
00:01:28.705520 VRDP: Logoff: TOM-WRKSTN (::1) build 17134. User: [] Domain: [] Reason 0x0000.
00:01:28.705654 VRDP: Connection closed: 1
00:01:56.561613 VRDP: TCP server closed.
00:01:56.562892 Changing the VM state from 'SUSPENDED' to 'POWERING_OFF'
They look just fine. In fact they were exactly the same as a similar test that I setup, and mine worked. :?

And then it hit me that you had the VMSVGA option as the vGPU, while my VM had the older VBoxVGA. As soon as I matched my setup to yours, it failed as well! ;)

So, go to the VM Settings » Display » Screen » Graphics Controller, and change that to VBoxVGA. Done.

I'll look tomorrow for an open ticket, and if there's not one, I'll open it myself and update the thread and the Known Issues for 6.0.0.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby Anon560487 » 23. Mar 2019, 04:44

socratis wrote:And then it hit me that you had the VMSVGA option as the vGPU, while my VM had the older VBoxVGA. As soon as I matched my setup to yours, it failed as well! ;)

So, go to the VM Settings » Display » Screen » Graphics Controller, and change that to VBoxVGA. Done.

socratis, Your solution worked! Thank you very much.
Case closed.
Anon560487
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21. Mar 2019, 15:56

Re: [Solved] I get first frame from RDP then video stops

Postby socratis » 23. Mar 2019, 04:57

Great, thanks for the confirmation. And thank you for marking the topic as [Solved]... ;)
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: [Workaround] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Postby socratis » 24. Mar 2019, 19:13

socratis wrote:I'll look tomorrow for an open ticket, and if there's not one, I'll open it myself and update the thread and the Known Issues for 6.0.0.

I didn't find a ticket for this, so I opened ticket #18518: VRDPing to a VM with VMSVGA sends only 1 frame, then screen updates stop. The funny thing is that mouse/keyboard still work just fine...

And as soon as I filed the ticket I realized that "VRDPing..." should have simply been "RDPing...". ;)
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: [Workaround] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Postby Hinnack » 25. Mar 2019, 18:12

I have the same problem and switching to VBoxVGA solved the problem only have the way. I do get frame updates only, if I input something - mainly: if I move the mouse. Anyway: RDP hangs after a time period...
Hinnack
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2. Jul 2015, 13:05

Re: [Workaround] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Postby socratis » 25. Mar 2019, 18:29

@Hinnack
No updates whatsoever with whatever combination of host/guest OSes I've tried. Can you give some more details?
  • Host OS:
  • Guest OS:
  • VirtualBox version:
  • RDP client OS:
  • RDP program:
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: [Workaround] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Postby Hinnack » 25. Mar 2019, 19:36

Host OS: MacOSX 10.14
Guest OS: Windows 10.0.17134.648
VirtualBox version: 6.0.4
RDP client OS: MacOSX 10.11.6 or 10.14
RDP program: Microsoft Remote Desktop 8.0.18 or Cord 0.5.7

The Problem seems to disappear by updating the Host to 10.14.3
Hinnack
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2. Jul 2015, 13:05

Re: [Fixed] I get first frame from RDP then video stops (#18518)

Postby socratis » 13. Apr 2019, 09:24

Seems to be fixed with 6.0.5 r129665 or later...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25936
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Linux Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests