Fedora 29 Guest not working for me

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
psand

Fedora 29 Guest not working for me

Post by psand »

Just wondering if anyone has had any luck with getting a Fedora 29 guest up and running? (I realize that F29 isn't even scheduled to go beta until 9/18.)

This is on a Windows 10 host with relatively generic Dell hardware, running VirtualBox 5.2.18. (The last thing I tried was upgrading to
development version 5.2.19; not extensively tested, but seems to give the same results described below.)

I've been bringing up Fedora guests on this system for a couple years now, so I don't think I'm doing anything obviously stupid. (But feel free to helpfully disagree with that.)

I use the "Cinnamon Spin" Live CD ISO, but get similar results with other F29 Live CD images. And I've been trying this, off and on, since they have been offering F29 spins, a couple weeks now. Most recently, the 9/1 spin from yesterday.

Symptom: creating a new guest and booting the Live CD image brings up a menu, the primary option being "Test this media & start Fedora-Cinnamon-Live 29". The boot process hangs, and does not display the LiveCD login screen as it should. Last message on screen "[OK] Started Network Manager Script Dispatcher Service". (The "Starting Light Display Manager" message appears a couple lines above that, but not seeing any evidence of that onscreen.)

It's possible to complete the boot by picking "Troubleshooting" on the first menu, and then "Start Fedora-Cinnamon-Live 29 in basic graphics mode". Cinnamon seems to reliably crash a few seconds after login. (Haven't tried other spins this far.) "Install to Hard Disk" works from that point, but the installed system also reliably crashes Cinnamon, even after applying updates.

I am checking the "Live CD/DVD" box on the Storage tab on system settings. Even though I'm unclear on what that does.

F29 seems to be using the 4.18.5 kernel.