Ubuntu 18.04 'Running' But Stuck on Dependency Screen

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
Cegg

Ubuntu 18.04 'Running' But Stuck on Dependency Screen

Post by Cegg »

I am currently running an Ubuntu VB on Windows 10 and just started getting an issue whereby when I run the machine it stays on the screen shown in the attached image:

I'm fairly new to VMs and I was wondering how can I get past this screen on to the actual VB to uninstall this program and address this issue?
Attachments
VM Error.png
VM Error.png (16.79 KiB) Viewed 1193 times
Last edited by Cegg on 28. Aug 2018, 21:15, edited 1 time in total.
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Ubuntu 18.04 'Running' But Stuck on Dependency Screen

Post by socratis »

1. Please familiarize yourself with some screen-grabbing tools. You're going to need them. A JPEG phone capture is not the best way to grab a screenshot. With the VM having the focus, press HostKey+E (that's the default), or go to the menu: View » Take screenshot... (HostKey+E). Save it as PNG (the best format for screen captures). Then edit your message, and replace the phone shot with the proper screen shot. Everyone can read it, everyone is happy. ;)
  2. We're going to need to see a VM log from a complete VM run:
    • Start the VM from cold-boot (not from a paused or saved state) / Observe error / Shutdown the VM (force close it if you have to).
    • With the VM completely shut down (not paused or saved), right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager and select "Show Log".
    • Save only the first "VBox.log", ZIP it and attach it to your response. See the "Upload attachment" tab below the reply form.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.