[Solved] Questions regarding Guest Additions

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
Cloah
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows and Linux Variants

[Solved] Questions regarding Guest Additions

Post by Cloah »

Apologies for revisiting a topic that may have been considered by some to be "beaten to death", but[1] I am also new to Virtual Box and have been running both Windows and Linux virtual machines (primarily on Mac platforms, though I also tried some on a Windows platform as well). At present my main work machine is an iMac running OS 10.13.4 and the version of VirtualBox installed on it is 5.2.12 r122591 (Qt5.6.3).

Anyway, I have also been having some problems with getting the guest additions to work as flawlessly as they do with Windows (both OS 10 64 bit Pro and 7 32 bit Pro) on my installations of Linux. I have up to now tried Ubuntu 64 bit 18.04 LTS, Mint Mate 32 bit 18.3 and Black Lab Mate 64 bit 11.60, and Manjaro KDE 64 bit 17.1.10.

From what I have gathered from this (and a few other threads) so far as best I can tell here is what I have been able to gather for virtual box guest additions to work.

First and foremost, the versions of VBox and its Extension Pack and the Guest Additions must all be the exact same on both the host machine and the virtual guest machines for them to work (of course) - they are meant to all work in a "set"as far as I understand.

Second, for Linux in particular two things are needed before attempts at installing the Guest Additions take place: the "linux headers"matching the linux kernel in use must be installed and in place, and they must be in the state of ëssential build". (One poster above suggested that the 4.13 kernel had problems in general with VBox Guest Additions and solved it on his Linux install by upgrading to the 4.14.15 kernel [this was in January of this year] and tinkering a bit with it....)