Need network help (VB 5.1.28 really slow)

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
keywild

Need network help (VB 5.1.28 really slow)

Post by keywild »

I have been using vmware for nearly two decades but their support for Linux is somewhat lacking. I am looking for alternatives. I decide to try Oracle VirualBox running on top of Linux. So far I have been fairly impressed except for one wee little nit picking problem. The guest LAN access is REALLY, REALLY, slow.

Operating System (guest and host):
Clean installs of Linux Mint 18.2 with Mate desktop environment.

Hardware:

I have actually done this on two machines but right now I am working with:
Desktop:HP 8330 SFF
CPU: Intel i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Ram: 32 GBytes
Display adapter: Nvidia NVS 310
Sata SSD: 250 Gbytes, INTEL SSDSA2BW120G3H (4PC10365)
Lan Adapter: Intel Pro E1000 (mother board)

Software:
virtualbox-5.1_5.1.28-117968-Ubuntu-xenial_amd64
Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-5.1.28-117968
VBoxGuestAdditions_5.1.28.iso

The Problem:
Host LAN performance runs anywhere from 35 MB to 50 MB/sec copying file across a 1000 base T LAN with netgear switches.
Guest LAN performance runs anywhere from 750 kB to 1 MB/sec copying file across the same LAN and adapter.
Source files are on another desktop computer running the same OS and using SMB sharing.
It is interesting that guest access to the Internet does not seem to be thus encumbered.
Guest is configured for 'bridged networking' because I NEED access to the LAN IP space.
Guest is configured with 4 CPUs and 4 Gbytes of ram.

I tried changing from virt-io nic to E000 nic. That is about 10% better

I tried changing chip-set from PII3 to ICH9
That slowed it down by about 25%

I changed the emulation type from KVM to Hyoer-V
lost all audio ... no significant difference in network

I changed the emulation type to legacy. That is actually 10% faster

Increased RAM to 8 GBytes

.... Now what ????
Configuration.zip
(8.66 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Perryg