Failed install guestadditions 5.1.2

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
jrc55
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: winxp, fedora16

Failed install guestadditions 5.1.2

Post by jrc55 »

With a working 5.1.0 guest I tried the guest 5.1.2 upgrade with the command I've run dozens of times in the past .....
sh ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
but it hangs on ...
Removing installed version 5.1.0 of VirtualBox Guest Additions ....

I've tried booting into a command line session and running ...
/opt/VBoxGuestAdditions-5.1.0/uninstall.sh
but it hangs in the same place.

I've been running VirtualBox for a few years now and this is a first.
Host is Win 10 64bit.
16 gig of memory.
Guest Fedora 24 64bit... with 3gb memory .... recent kernel 4.6.3 ... xorg at 1.18.3 ... no 3d accelration
It was running VB 5.1.0 without any (known) problems.
Any suggestions?
Thanks.
John
frank
Oracle Corporation
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows

Re: Failed install guestadditions 5.1.2

Post by frank »

Could you do the following as root:

Code: Select all

strace -f -s128 -o log.txt /opt/VirtualBox/uninstall.sh
and attach the resulting log.txt here?
michael
Oracle Corporation

Post by michael »

My request would be:

sh -x /opt/VirtualBox/uninstall.sh > log.txt 2>&1
If you feel up to it, you could also try running sub-commands using

sh -x
to see what they are doing.
robatino

Post by robatino »

Experiencing the same problem with a Fedora 24 host and Fedora Rawhide guest. During the "hang", if I open a VT and run top, it shows dracut running. Looking in /boot, it's creating initramfs files for kernels I don't even have installed. My installed kernels are

4.6.0-1.fc25.x86_64
4.7.0-0.rc7.git3.1.fc25.x86_64
4.7.0-0.rc7.git4.1.fc25.x86_64