Guest Additions

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
Ed

Guest Additions

Post by Ed »

I am new to both VirtualBox and Linux (I do have some UNIX background) and seem to be having issues trying to get Guest Additions working correctly. I have tried reading though posts which have not solved my problem.

I am running:
Host: Windows 7 64bit on my laptop
VirurtualBox 4.1.14 r77440 (I upgraded from 4.1.12 which I used for the original OS install)

Guest: Oracle Linux server 5 update 8

I have tried to make sure I have everything I need and ran the following commands:
yum update
yum install kernel-devel
yum install gcc
yum install elfutils-libelf-devel
yum install libstdc++-devel
yum install glibc-devel
yum install libaio-devel
yum install gcc-c++
yum install pdksh

When booting up my Linux guest I get the following error: Starting Virtual Box Guest Additions [Failed]

I have checked that C:\ProgramFiles\Oracle\VirtualBox\VBoxGuestAdditions.iso is there.

If I try to install guest additions I get "VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED" error with a question of "do I want to force mount". I have tried to force mount and then I do not get an error on install guest additions; however, I still get the error during boot up that guest additions failed.

When I go into the Linux guest and check the VBoxGuestAdditions.log file I see (modprobe vboxguest failed) Starting VirtualBox Guest Additions service VirtualBox Additions module not loaded!

Thanks for any help on this.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Guest Additions

Post by Perryg »

What were the errors you received when installing?
What does /var/log/vboxadd-install.log say?
Ed

Post by Ed »